Illinois Drivers Handbook | Illinois Drivers Manual

Published on May 2016 | Categories: Types, Instruction manuals | Downloads: 115 | Comments: 0 | Views: 401
of 100
Download PDF   Embed   Report

ILLINOISIllinois law prohibits drivers from text messaging while driving and bans cell phone use in construction and school zones.Rules Roadof theJesse WhiteSecretary of StateIllinois Rules of the Road 2011Illinois highways are the safest they have been in 50 years. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), fatalities in motor vehicle crashes have dropped 13 percent across the state and alcoholrelated crashes are down 10 percent. While these numbers are

Comments

Content

DSD A 112 ROR cover2015b.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:20 PM Page 1

IT’S ILLEGAL IN ILLINOIS TO
TEXT OR USE A CELLPHONE
WHILE DRIVING.*

ILLINOIS

2015
RULES
OF THE

ROAD

*USE OF BLUETOOTH™ AND HANDS-FREE DEVICES IS
PERMITTED FOR DRIVERS AGE 19 YEARS AND OLDER.

Printed by authority of the State of Illinois. January 2015 — DSD A 112.24

Illinois Rules of the Road 2015

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 1

Illinois continues to be a national leader in
traffic safety. Over the last decade, traffic
fatalities in our state have declined significantly. This is due in large part to innovative
efforts to combat drunk and distracted driving, as well as tougher guidelines for new
teen drivers. The driving public’s increased
awareness and avoidance of hazardous
driving behaviors will be critical for Illinois
to see a further decline in traffic fatalities.
Illinois law prohibits the use of cellphones while driving with the
exception of using hands-free or Bluetooth technology. Drivers under
age 19, however, are prohibited from any cellphone usage, including
hands-free devices.
In addition, with new laws concerning medical cannabis (marijuana)
being implemented in Illinois, it is important to note that the laws pertaining to drinking and driving similarly pertain to driving while impaired
by marijuana. A new section on these measures is on page 42.
As technology advances, my office continues to offer Illinoisans more
ways to access Secretary of State services. Hundreds of thousands of
drivers and registered vehicle owners have utilized my office’s website at www.cyberdriveillinois.com to renew a driver’s license and
license plates, register on the Emergency Contact Database or join the
Illinois Organ/Tissue Donor Registry.
As Secretary of State, I will continue to maintain the highest standards when it comes to traffic safety and public service in Illinois.

Jesse White
Secretary of State

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 1

Table of Contents
Chapter 1: Illinois Driver’s License ................................................................................2
Chapter 2: Driver’s License Exams ..............................................................................11
Chapter 3: Drivers Under Age 21 ................................................................................14
Chapter 4: Traffic Laws................................................................................................19
Chapter 5: Sharing the Road ......................................................................................35
Chapter 6: Driving Under the Influence (DUI) ............................................................42
Chapter 7: Traffic Violations/Crashes ........................................................................48
Chapter 8: Driver’s License Revocation, Suspension, Denial, Cancellation ..............51
Chapter 9: Roadway Signs ..........................................................................................56
Chapter 10: Traffic Signals and Pavement Markings ................................................70
Chapter 11: Safe Driving Tips......................................................................................76
Chapter 12: Equipment for Safe Driving ....................................................................85
Chapter 13: Owning a Vehicle ....................................................................................88
Answers to Study Questions ......................................................................................93
Index ............................................................................................................................93
U.S. Department of Labor Hazardous Occupations Order #2 ....................................96
This edition of the Illinois Rules of the Road is as accurate as possible at the time of
publication. The booklet contains information you must know to pass the written test
on traffic laws and signs in order to obtain basic driving privileges. It includes information on obtaining a driver’s license, driver’s license laws, traffic safety issues and
general information regarding Illinois traffic laws and ordinances.
The language of the Illinois Compiled Statutes is condensed and paraphrased and
does not cover every law or explain every possible situation that motorists may face
while operating a motor vehicle. The manual also provides highway safety information
not in the law. It is intended as a tool for drivers and should not be cited as a legal
authority in court. Additional information and many forms are available at www.cyberdriveillinois.com.

1

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 2

Chapter 1: Illinois Driver’s License
To drive legally in Illinois, you must have a valid Illinois driver’s license, temporary visitor driver’s license, probationary license, instruction permit, Restricted Driving Permit
or Monitoring Device Driving Permit. To receive a driver’s license, you must:
• Visit a Driver Services facility, show required identification documents and have
your photo taken.
• Surrender all Illinois or out-of-state licenses, state ID cards, instruction permits and
commercial driver’s licenses.
• Pay the appropriate fee.
• Pass the appropriate exams (vision screening, written and/or driving).

Age Restrictions — Drivers 16-21
You must be at least age 18 to obtain an Illinois driver’s license. The following exceptions apply:
• If you are age 16 or 17, you may receive your license if you successfully complete a
state-approved driver education course, complete 50 hours of practice driving and
pass the three parts of the driver’s license exam. If a parent cannot accompany a
minor to the facility, an Affidavit/Consent for Minor to Drive must be signed by a
legal guardian or a responsible adult over age 21. For more information about
obtaining a driver’s license before age 18, see page 14.
• If you are a first-time driver’s license applicant age 18, 19 or 20 who has never been
licensed or completed an approved high school or commercial school driver education course, you must successfully complete a six-hour adult driver education
course through a Secretary of State certified adult driver education provider before
obtaining a license.
• Drivers under age 21 are not allowed to drive any vehicle for-hire that is transporting
more than 10 passengers, or drive a commuter van, religious organization bus, school
bus, vehicle transporting senior citizens or child-care vehicle.
Additional Requirements
• You are required to carry your driver’s license or permit with you when you drive.
• For procedures on obtaining a license to operate a motorcycle or commercial vehicle,
please refer to the Illinois Motorcycle Operator Manual, the Rules of the Road for
Non-CDL Vehicles or the Commercial Driver’s License Study Guide, available at any
Secretary of State facility or at www.cyberdriveillinois.com.
• For procedures on obtaining a temporary visitor driver’s license, please refer to the
Temporary Visitor Driver’s License Quick Guide available at www.cyberdriveillinois.
com.
• A driver must meet special requirements to operate a school bus (contact your local
school district); religious organization bus; child-care vehicle; vehicle used in forprofit ride sharing; or vehicle used for senior citizen transportation. Please check
2

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 3

with your employer, a local Driver Services facility or call the Safe Ride Section of
the Secretary of State’s office.

Exemptions
You may drive in Illinois without a valid Illinois driver’s license under the following circumstances:
• If you have permanently moved to Illinois from another state or country, your nonIllinois driver’s license is valid for 90 days. You must obtain an Illinois license within
that 90-day period or when the driver’s license expires, whichever comes first.
• If you are visiting or driving through Illinois, you must have a valid driver’s license
from your home state or country.
• If you are an out-of-state student attending an Illinois college/university, you, your
spouse and children may drive with a valid license from your home state or country.
• If you are on active duty with the U.S. Armed Forces, you, your spouse and children
may drive with a valid license from your home state.
• If you have been serving in the U.S. Armed Forces outside the United States but are
a legal resident of Illinois, you may drive during the first 120 days of your return
with a military deferral license.
• If you are employed by the U.S. government or are a member of the U.S. Armed
Forces, you do not need a valid Illinois license if you are on official business and
driving a vehicle owned by or leased to the government.
• If you are operating a road machine temporarily on the roadway or operating a farm
tractor between the farm buildings and nearby farmland, you do not need a valid
Illinois driver’s license.

Changing Your Name/Address
You must apply for a new driver’s license by visiting a Driver Services facility within
30 days of legally changing your name. You must provide documentation that links
your new name to the name on your current driver’s license card and on file with the
Secretary of State’s office. The name displayed on your driver’s license will be your
full given name and surname as recorded at birth, recorded at marriage, recorded with
the Social Security Administration or otherwise established through legal action. The
appropriate fee must be paid to receive a new license and/or ID card.
You must notify the Secretary of State’s office of an address change within 10 days of
your move by visiting a Driver Services facility; visiting www.cyberdriveillinois.com; or
writing to: Secretary of State, Driver Services Department, Address Change, 2701 S.
Dirksen Pkwy., Springfield, IL 62723.
You will not receive a new license reflecting the address change unless you visit a
facility, present acceptable forms of proof of residency (see page 6) and pay the appropriate fee.
3

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 4

CDL holders must notify the Secretary of State’s office within 10 days of a name/
address change and must obtain a corrected driver’s license within 30 days of a name/
address change.

Note: Driver Services facilities are closed on all state and federal holidays. Please check
the hours of your facility before visiting. Facility phone numbers are available in the government listings in your telephone directory or at www.cyberdriveillinois.com.

Document/ID Requirements for Driver’s License/ID Card
To receive an Illinois driver’s license/ID card, you must provide acceptable forms of
identification to prove your legal name, date of birth, Social Security number, residency and signature. Please refer to the Acceptable Identification Documents chart on
page 6 for a list of documents that may be used. Please note the following:
• Signature comparison is required in the verification process.
• The number of documents required depends on whether an applicant is applying for
a driver’s license/ID card for the first time, or requesting a duplicate or corrected
driver’s license/ID card.
• One document may satisfy more than one group.
• New residents must surrender all Illinois or out-of-state licenses/ID cards and/or
instruction permits prior to issuance of an Illinois driver’s license/ID card.
• An applicant applying for a temporary visitor driver’s license should refer to the
Temporary Visitor Driver’s License Quick Guide for document requirements.

First-time Illinois Driver’s License/ID Card Applicant
An applicant applying for a driver’s license/ID card for the first time in Illinois must present:
• One document that satisfies each of Group A, B and C.
• Two documents that satisfy Group D (one document from Group D if applicant under
age 5 is applying for an ID card).
Duplicate/Corrected Driver’s License/ID Card Applicant
An applicant applying for either a duplicate or corrected driver’s license/ID card must
present:
• One document that satisfies Group A.
• One document that satisfies Group B, C or D (two documents from Group D if applicant is requesting an address change to appear on the document, unless applicant
under age 5 is applying for an ID card).
• An applicant who requests a change in name, date of birth, Social Security number
or gender must provide identification to link the change from the previous information to the new information.
• An applicant under age 60 whose license was stolen must present a police report
to receive a duplicate driver’s license/ID card at no cost. Persons over age 60 do not
need a police report for a duplicate driver’s license/ID card at no cost.
4

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 5

Illinois Driver’s License/ID Card Renewal Applicant
An applicant renewing a current Illinois driver’s license or ID card need only present
his/her current valid driver’s license or ID card if no changes are required. If the applicant does not have his/her current driver’s license or ID card or changes are required,
he/she must present:
• One document that satisfies Group A.
• One document that satisfies each of Group B, C or D (two documents from Group D
if applicant is requesting an address change to appear on the document).

Driver’s License Classifications
Driver’s licenses are classified by the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of your vehicle.
Drivers seeking a basic license to operate a car in Illinois are issued a Class D license.
• Class A — Any combination of motor vehicles with a gross combined weight rating
(GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or more, providing that the vehicle being towed is in
excess of 10,000 pounds. Does not include motorcycles or motor-driven cycles. (A
CDL is generally required.)
• Class B — Any single motor vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more or any
such vehicle towing another not in excess of 10,000 pounds. Does not include
motorcycles or motor-driven cycles. (A CDL is generally required.)
• Class C — Any motor vehicle with a GVWR of more than 16,000 pounds but less
than 26,001 pounds; or any such vehicle towing another with a GVWR of 10,000
pounds or less; or any such vehicle designed to carry 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or hazardous materials that require placarding. Does not include
motorcycles or motor-driven cycles.
• Class D — Any motor vehicle with a GVWR of 16,000 pounds or less, except those
vehicles requiring a Class A, B or C driver’s license or an L or M motorcycle license.
• Class L — Any motor-driven cycle with less than 150cc displacement.
• Class M — Any motorcycle or motor-driven cycle.

NOTE: Holders of a Class D license may also operate rental vehicles up to 26,000
pounds when transporting their own personal property or that of an immediate family
member for non-business purposes within the State of Illinois. The driver is required
and should be provided information to successfully complete a safety course regarding
the safe operation of that vehicle from the rental company.
Certain licenses can be issued under special circumstances:
• Probationary License — Issued in conjunction with a driver improvement activity
that grants full driving privileges during a period of suspension for drivers age 21
and over. The license may only be issued to a person suspended for three moving
violations in a 12-month period and cannot be issued for more than three months.
• Restricted Local Driver’s License — Issued to drivers who live in communities
with less than 3,500 residents and drive only within certain areas of the community.
5

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 6

6

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 7

Driver’s License Renewal
About 90 days before your driver’s license expires, you should receive a renewal
notice from the Secretary of State’s office with information on what documents you
need to provide and what tests are necessary. You may renew your license up to one
year before a two- or four-year driver’s license expires. You may renew up to six
months before a one-year driver’s license expires.
You may not receive a renewal notice if you fail to notify the Secretary of State’s office
of a change of name or address. State law requires you to inform the Secretary of
State’s office of an address change within 10 days. It is the driver’s responsibility to
renew his or her license before expiration, regardless of whether a renewal
letter is received. You will not receive a renewal notice if you hold a temporary
visitor driver’s license.
A driver’s license is valid for four years and expires on the driver’s birthday except in
the following cases:
• Driver under age 21 — license expires three months after 21st birthday.
• Driver age 81-86 — license valid for two years.
• Driver age 87 and older — license requires annual renewal.
• Driver holding a temporary visitor driver’s license expires in three years or upon the
expiration of immigration documents.
For more information on renewing a CDL or motorcycle license, check the Illinois
Motorcycle Operator Manual, the Rules of the Road for Non-CDL Vehicles or the
Commercial Driver’s License Study Guide. For information on renewing a TVDL, please
refer to the Temporary Visitor Driver’s License Quick Guide.

Standard Renewal
To renew your driver’s license, you must:
• Visit a Driver Services facility and present your renewal notice.
• Take the appropriate exam(s), if applicable.
• Pay the appropriate fee and have a new photo taken.
Upon payment and successful completion of any required testing, the Secretary of
State will issue your new driver’s license before you leave the facility, except for TVDL
holders. For more information on the vision, written or driving exam, see page 11.

Safe Driver Renewal
The Safe Driver Renewal Program enables drivers with clean driving records to renew
their driver’s licenses from home and visit a Driver Services facility only once every
eight years. Eligible drivers will receive a notice in the mail detailing how to complete
7

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 8

the renewal process online, by phone or by mail. To be eligible for Safe Driver
Renewal, a driver must:
• Be age 22-74;
• Not hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or school bus driver permit;
• Not hold a temporary visitor driver’s license (TVDL);
• Have no traffic infractions, sanctions, crash reports or medical report review
requirements; and
• Have Social Security information verified through the Social Security Online
Verification System.
Safe drivers will receive their new license by mail. For more information, visit
www.cyberdriveillinois.com.

Penalties for Driver’s License/ID Card Fraud
The following offenses will result in your arrest and possible imprisonment of up to
five years and the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license for a minimum of
12 months:
• Signing a driver’s license/ID card application that includes false information.
• Presenting false identification for the purposes of obtaining a driver’s license/ID
card.
• Using a fictitious or unlawfully altered driver’s license/permit.
• Presenting another person’s driver’s license/ID card as if it were yours.
• Allowing another person to use your identification documents to apply for a driver’s
license/ID card.

Notations on the Back of Your Driver’s License
On the back of your license you may:
• Note your blood type and RH factor.
• Indicate you carry an Emergency Medical Information Card. Stickers are available
at any Driver Services facility, hospitals, schools, medical groups or associations
that provide Emergency Medical Information Cards.
• Indicate that you carry a living will and/or power of attorney for health care notification card. Stickers are available at any Driver Services facility.

Medical Report
When you apply for a driver’s license, you will be asked about any physical or mental
conditions that may potentially impair your safe operation of a motor vehicle, or any
medications you use (prescribed or over-the-counter), drugs or alcohol that may impair
your driving ability. In certain instances, you must provide a Medical Report completed
by your doctor verifying your medical ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. The
report must be presented to the Driver Services facility personnel within 90 days from
8

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 9

the date the doctor signs it. The form is available at any Driver Services facility or at
www.cyberdriveillinois.com.
If you develop a medical condition that is likely to cause a loss of consciousness or
any loss of ability to safely operate a vehicle, you must notify the Secretary of State’s
office within 10 days of becoming aware of the condition. Failure to do so may lead
to cancellation of your driver’s license and driving privileges.

Non-Driving Programs
Related to Your Driver’s License
The Secretary of State’s office is required to ask certain non-driving-related questions
during the driver’s license/ID card application process. Among these are:
• Illinois Organ/Tissue Donor Registry – Persons age 18 and older will be asked to
join the registry. Your wishes regarding organ/tissue donation will be honored. For
more information, visit www.LifeGoesOn.com or call 800-210-2106.
• Veteran Designation – Beginning July 1, 2015, a “Veteran” designation may be
placed on the face of an Illinois driver’s license/ID card at the request of the card
applicant. The applicant must have received an honorable discharge from any
branch of the U.S. military. Details on how to apply for a “Veteran” designation will
be available on the Secretary of State’s website beginning June 1, 2015.
• Voter Registration – Any person applying for a driver’s license/ID card will be
asked if he/she would like to apply to register to vote. The application will be
mailed to the appropriate election authority for processing. The local election
authority will then mail a voter registration card to the applicant. For more information, contact your local election authority. This does not apply to temporary
visitor driver’s license applicants.
• Selective Service – Federal law requires all males ages 18-25 to register with the
Selective Service System. The signature on the driver’s license/ID card application
of any qualifying male certifies that he has registered or, if not already registered,
authorizes the Secretary of State’s office to submit his information to the Selective
Service System for registration.

Driver’s License/State ID Card Fees
Driver’s License/Permit
Instruction Permit ......................................................................................................$20
Driver’s License, ages 18-20 ........................................................................................$5
Driver’s License, ages 21-68 ......................................................................................$30
Driver’s License, ages 69-80 ........................................................................................$5
Driver’s License, ages 81-86 ........................................................................................$2
Driver’s License, age 87 and older............................................................................Free
9

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 10

Temporary Visitor Driver’s License ............................................................................$30
New Classification added; not at time of renewal (except CDL)................................$5
School Bus Permit ........................................................................................................$4
Note: In addition to the regular driver’s license fee, an applicant will pay an additional
$5 fee to add/renew an M or L classification to his/her driver’s license.

State ID Card
State ID Card, under age 18 ......................................................................................$10
State ID Card, ages 18-64..........................................................................................$20
State ID Card, age 65 and older; Persons with Disabilities ....................................Free
Duplicate/Corrected Driver’s License/Permit
Duplicate/Corrected Driver’s License/Permit ..............................................................$5
Duplicate/Corrected Temporary Visitor Driver’s License ............................................$5
Duplicate Driver’s License/Permit, under age 60 (license was stolen, full police report
required) ....................................................................................................................Free
Duplicate Driver’s License/Permit, age 60 and older (license was lost/stolen) ......Free
Duplicate/Corrected State ID Card
Duplicate State ID Card, under age 18......................................................................$10
Duplicate State ID Card, ages 18-64 ........................................................................$20
Duplicate State ID Card, (ID card was stolen, full police report required)..............Free
Duplicate State ID Card, age 60 and older (ID card was lost/stolen) ....................Free
Corrected State ID Card, under age 18 ......................................................................$5
Corrected State ID Card, ages 18-64 ........................................................................$10
Corrected State ID Card, age 65 and older ..............................................................Free
Active Members of the Armed Services (also spouses/children residing at home)
Duplicate License/Permit/State ID Card ..................................................................Free
Fees are subject to legislative change. For up-to-date fee information, visit www.cyberdriveillinois.com. For information on CDL fees, please refer to the Commercial Driver’s
License Study Guide.
For more information on temporary visitor driver’s license fees, please refer to the
Temporary Visitor Driver’s License Quick Guide available at www.cyberdriveillinois.
com.

10

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 11

Chapter 2: Driver’s License Exams
When applying for a driver’s license, you may be required to take vision, written and
driving exams. Vision and written tests are required for the issuance or renewal of all
permits. Applicants must also pay the appropriate fee (see pages 9-10). You are
allowed three attempts to pass each of these exams within one year from the date
you paid your application fee.

Vision Screening
All applicants must have a vision screening or submit a Vision Specialist Report completed by a licensed optometrist, ophthalmologist or physician dated within six
months of your facility visit. This form is available at your local Driver Services facility
or at www.cyberdriveillinois.com. Vision requirements include:
• Minimum visual acuity of 20/40 with or without corrective lenses. Drivers with acuity between 20/41 and 20/70 are limited to daylight driving only.
• At least 140 degree peripheral vision (the ability to see to the side) with or without
corrective lenses.
• If you wear glasses or contacts, a restriction will be noted on your license and you
must always wear your glasses or contact lenses when operating a vehicle.
• If you wear telescopic lenses, you must meet special requirements and undergo
additional vision testing to receive your license.

Written Exam
The basic exam requires you to:
• Identify traffic signs by shape, color or symbol.
• Identify signals and pavement markings.
• Answer multiple choice and true/false questions about traffic laws, safety rules,
crash prevention and vehicle equipment.
Exam requirements for motorcycles, trucks and buses vary. Please consult the appropriate operator’s manual for these types of vehicles.

Driving Exam
Any new driver may be required to take a driving exam in a vehicle representing the
same size and weight classification as the driver’s license for which they are applying.
All drivers must take a written exam every eight years, except those having no traffic
convictions. New drivers age 75 and older and any driver turning 75 or older who is
renewing his/her driver’s license must take a driving exam in a representative vehicle.

11

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 12

If you have a traffic crash or other moving violation on your driving record you may be
required to take the written and/or driving exams. If you are age 21 or older and are
driving for the first time, you may want to enroll in a community college or commercial
driving school for adults. For more information, call your local community college or
commercial driving school.
To take a driving exam, the vehicle you provide must:
• Be a properly licensed vehicle equipped for the driver’s license classification you are
seeking and comply with Secretary of State vehicle condition standards including
properly working brakes including the emergency brake, speedometer, headlights,
brake and tail lights, registration plate light, turn signals, windshield wipers, horn,
rearview mirror and muffler.
• Be equipped with seatbelts.
• Be properly insured. Proof of insurance must be provided prior to the exam.
• Display valid front and rear Illinois license plates and a valid registration sticker. If
the vehicle is registered outside of Illinois, it must meet the registration requirements of the respective state.
• Be driven to the facility by a driver who has a valid driver’s license/permit.
Only the examiner is allowed to be with you during the exam. Children or pets are not
allowed in the vehicle during the exam and cannot be left unattended in the facility
while the driving exam is under way. If you need to bring children or pets with you,
you must bring someone along to take care of them.
During the driving exam, the driver and the examiner must wear safety belts, as
required by law. You will automatically fail the exam if you violate any traffic law or
commit any dangerous action while taking the exam.
You will be graded on your ability to perform several driving tasks and maneuvers
including the following:
• Start the vehicle by checking the vehicle controls, including the parking brake and
mirrors. Make all adjustments to seats, safety belts, mirrors and other equipment
before you move your vehicle. All the required equipment listed in Chapter 12 must
be working properly.
• Back the vehicle approximately 50 feet at a slow speed, straight and smoothly. Turn
your head to the right and watch to the rear as you back.
• Turnabout using an alley on the left side of the street. Turn your left signal on before
turning into the alley. Back the car out of the alley and stay on your side of the street.
• Park uphill on the side of the road (see pages 29-30).
• Start uphill from a parked position (see pages 29-30).
• Park downhill on the side of the road (see pages 29-30).
• Start downhill from a parked position (see pages 29-30).
12

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 13

• Control your vehicle by obeying all traffic signs, controls devices, right-of-ways,
lane markings and proper use of turn signals.

Cheating and Bribery
During the written exam, any applicant observed in a situation that could be considered suspicious (e.g., an open book within his/her field of vision, looking around or
checking a cellphone or other wireless device, etc.) but no cheating is observed, will
be warned. Once warned, any applicant found cheating on any portion of the written
exam will be failed for that portion of the exam and prohibited from retaking the written exam for 30 days. Any applicant directly observed cheating will not be warned, but
will be failed for that portion of the exam and prohibited from retaking the written
exam for 30 days. Taking any part of the driver’s license exam for another person is a criminal offense punishable by a fine and a mandatory minimum
seven days in jail.
Additionally, the Secretary of State’s office may deny for a period of 120 consecutive
days the issuance of a driver’s license and/or instruction permit to any person who,
with intent to influence any act related to the issuance of any driver’s license or
instruction permit, attempts to bribe or otherwise influence an employee of the
Secretary of State’s office, the owner of any commercial driver training school
licensed by the Secretary of State, or any other individual authorized to give driving
instructions or administer any part of a driver’s license examination.

Special Services
The Secretary of State’s office provides the following special services for senior citizens, persons with disabilities and veterans:
• Free Rules of the Road Review Courses.
• License plates and parking placards for persons with disabilities.
• Reduced-fee license plate renewal fees for seniors age 65 and older and persons
with disabilities who meet income criteria through the Circuit Breaker Program. For
more information, contact the Illinois Department on Aging.
• Interpreter service for the deaf or hard of hearing when obtaining or renewing a driver’s license. Please schedule interpreter services in advance by calling 312-8145683 or 888-261-5238 (TTY, NexTalk).
• As an Illinois driver’s license/ID cardholder, you may register with the Illinois
Emergency Contact Database. This database allows you to provide emergency contact information for law enforcement or emergency responders in the event of a
crash or emergency situation. You also may provide information about special
needs or disabilities. For more information, visit www.cyberdriveillinois.com.

13

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 14

Chapter 3: Drivers Under Age 21
In Illinois, most people under age 18 learn to drive in high school or at a commercial driver training school licensed by the Secretary of State’s office. Approved driver education
classes include at least 30 hours of classroom study and six hours of behind-the-wheel
training in a regular passenger vehicle.
For information about driving a larger vehicle or a motorcycle, please refer to the Rules
of the Road for Non-CDL Vehicles, Commercial Driver’s License Study Guide, or Illinois
Motorcycle Operator Manual, available at any Driver Services facility or at www.cyberdriveillinois.com.

Obtaining an Instruction Permit
If you are age 15-17, you may receive your instruction permit with proof you are enrolled
in an approved driver education class or will start attending an approved driver education
class within the next 30 days. The instruction permit is valid for 24 months and must be
held for at least nine consecutive months prior to obtaining a driver’s license if you are age
16 or older. If you are age 17 and 3 months or older, you may apply for an instruction permit
without taking a driver education course. When you apply for your instruction permit, you
must pass the vision and written exams for the license classification you are seeking.
Your instruction permit allows you to drive during the behind-the-wheel portion of your
driver education class with an adult instructor occupying the seat next to you. It also
allows you to drive with a parent, legal guardian or responsible adult age 21 or older
with a valid license for the type of vehicle you are driving and at least one year of driving
experience. After you have successfully completed the driver education class, you may
continue practice driving with your instruction permit, under the direct supervision of a
responsible adult, as outlined above.
Illinois law requires that you have at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training, including 10 hours of nighttime driving, in addition to your driver education training, before you
are eligible to obtain a driver’s license at age 16. A driving log to track your hours is available at www.cyberdriveillinois.com or in the Parent/Teen Driving Guide.

Driver Education and the
Cooperative Driver Testing Program
High school students who successfully complete an accredited driver education
course of classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction with a combined grade of A or
B may be exempt from taking a facility administered driving exam when applying for
a driver’s license. School districts are encouraged to participate in this voluntary program by contacting the Secretary of State’s office. For more information on the
requirements for this program, visit www.cyberdriveillinois.com.
Upon successful completion of the classroom and behind-the-wheel portions of driver
education through your local high school, the Secretary of State’s office will receive noti14

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 15

fication and add a notation to your driver’s license record. After successful completion
of a driving exam, you may be issued a Cooperative Driver Testing Certificate, which
must be signed by the driver education instructor and the student’s parent/legal
guardian. The certificate, which expires on the same day as the student’s current instruction permit and will not be extended, must be presented at any Driver Services facility
at the time of driver’s license application.
A student under age 18 who drops out of high school cannot have the notation indicating
completion placed on his/her driver’s license record unless:
• The instructor has written verification of enrollment in a GED or alternative program;
• The student has a GED;
• The student, prior to dropping out, received passing grades in at least eight courses
in the previous two semesters; or
• The student has written consent from his/her parents or legal guardian and the
regional superintendent.
The local superintendent or chief school administrator may waive conditions deemed in
the best interest of the student or dropout. Successful completion of driver education
may be verified by accessing the Illinois State Board of Education’s website at
www.isbe.state.il.us/students.

First-Time Drivers — Age 18-20
Illinois driver’s license applicants ages 18, 19 or 20 who have not previously been
licensed or completed an approved driver education course must complete a six hour
Adult Driver Education Course. The Adult Driver Education Course can only be taught by
providers certified by the Secretary of State. Courses may be taught in a classroom setting or online, depending on the certification of a provider. Completion of an Adult Driver
Education Course from a provider not certified by the Office of the Secretary of State will
not be accepted.

Graduated Driver Licensing Program
Illinois’ Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Program requires drivers ages 15-20 to work
their way toward full driving privileges. There are three progressive stages beginning
at age 15 when a young driver obtains his/her learner’s permit. Young drivers must
earn the right to move from one phase to the next based on their driving behavior.
Each phase of the GDL process sets forth specific guidelines for teen drivers.

Permit Phase — Drivers Age 15
• Nighttime driving restrictions — Sun.-Thurs., 10 p.m.-6 a.m.; Fri.-Sat., 11 p.m.-6 a.m.
(local curfews may differ).
• Permit must be held for a minimum of nine months.
• Must practice driving a minimum of 50 hours, including 10 hours at night, supervised by a parent or adult age 21 or older with a valid driver’s license.
15

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 16

• Must not acquire any driving or underage alcohol convictions or court supervisions
during the nine-month permit phase.
• Number of passengers limited to one in the front seat and the number of safety
belts in the back seat.
• All occupants must wear safety belts.
• Any wireless/cellphone use while driving, including a hands-free device, is prohibited for drivers under age 19, except in the case of an emergency to contact a law
enforcement agency, health care provider or emergency services agency.
• Permit is valid for up to two years.

Initial Licensing Phase — Drivers Ages 16-17
• Nighttime driving restrictions — Sun.-Thurs., 10 p.m.-6 a.m.; Fri.-Sat., 11 p.m.-6 a.m.
(local curfews may differ).
• Must maintain a conviction-free driving record for six months prior to turning 18. A
traffic conviction during the Initial Licensing Phase may extend restrictions beyond
age 18.
• All occupants must wear safety belts.
• For the first 12 months of licensing, or until the driver turns 18, whichever occurs
first, the number of passengers is limited to one person under age 20, unless the
passenger(s) is a sibling, stepsibling, child or stepchild of the driver. After this period, the number of passengers is limited to one in the front seat and the number of
safety belts in the back seat.
• Any wireless/cellphone use while driving, including a hands-free device, is prohibited for drivers under age 19, except in the case of an emergency to contact a law
enforcement agency, health care provider or emergency services agency.
Full Licensing Phase — Drivers Ages 18-20
• No age-related restrictions apply except in cases where a driver fails to move from
the Initial Licensing Phase to the Full Licensing Phase.
• Any wireless/cellphone use while driving, including a hands-free device, is prohibited for drivers under age 19, except in the case of an emergency to contact a law
enforcement agency, health-care provider or emergency services agency.
For more information about the GDL program, please refer to the Illinois Graduated
Driver Licensing Program brochure at www.cyberdriveillinois.com. Brochures also are
available at your local Driver Services facility, high school driver education program or
a commercial driving school program.

Parental Responsibility
• Parental Consent — Drivers ages 16-17 must have the written consent of a parent/legal guardian to obtain a driver’s license. The parent/legal guardian who gave
initial consent may cancel the minor’s license at any time, for any reason, until the
driver turns 18 by contacting the Secretary of State’s office. Driving privileges will not
16

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 17

be reinstated until the parent/legal guardian who withdrew consent, once again provides consent or until the driver turns 18, whichever occurs first. The teen driver must
reapply for a driver’s license, take all applicable exams and pay the appropriate fees.
• Parent-Teen Driving Guide — In partnership with the Illinois Department of
Transportation, the Illinois High School and College Driver Education Association
and the Illinois Parent Teacher Association, the Secretary of State’s office developed a Parent-Teen Driving Guide to assist parents in teaching their teen drivers the
skills they need to know before they start driving on their own. The guide is available at www.cyberdriveillinois.com.
• Parent-Teen Driving Contract — The Secretary of State’s office provides a voluntary Parent-Teen Driving Contract that establishes parameters and boundaries
between parents and teens to enable young drivers to acquire safe driving habits
and skills. The contract is available in the Parent-Teen Driving Guide or at www.
cyberdriveillinois.com.
• Parental Access to Teen’s Driving Record — The parent/legal guardian of a
person under age 18 who holds an instruction permit or graduated driver’s license
may access the minor’s driving record at no cost at www.cyberdriveillinois.com,
using the PIN provided by the Secretary of State’s office.

Applying for Your Driver’s License
Driver’s licenses for persons under age 21 are printed vertically with distinct features.
To apply for your driver’s license before age 18, you must bring the following documents to the Driver Services facility:
• Instruction permit;
• Acceptable forms of identification (see page 6);
• Affidavit/Consent For Minor To Drive (if applicable);
• Cooperative Driver Testing Certificate (if applicable); and
• 50-hour driving log with proper signature.
The Secretary of State must have received notification of your driver education completion and the notation must appear on your driving record before a driver’s license
is issued. Students whose birthdays fall on certain dates are required to pass a driving
exam administered at a Driver Services facility even though they may have taken and
passed a road test conducted by their driver education instructor. If you receive your
driver’s license prior to the expiration of your instruction permit, you may not be
required to pay an additional fee when applying for the driver’s license.
Drivers under age 18 are not allowed to drive for hire any vehicle transporting property
(e.g., delivery persons or any passenger vehicle transporting 10 or fewer people). For
information on Labor Regulations, see page 96.

17

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 18

Related Laws
• Court Supervision for Moving Violations — A driver under age 21 is limited to
one court supervision for serious traffic offenses. To obtain court supervision for a
traffic violation, a driver under age 21 must attend traffic safety school. A driver under
age 18 must appear in court with a parent/legal guardian and also must attend traffic
safety school. If receiving court supervision for certain alcohol-related violations, a
driver under age 18 will be denied a full graduated driver’s license for nine months.
• Loss of Driving Privileges for Moving Violations — A driver under age 21
convicted of two or more moving violations within a 24-month period will have
his/her driver’s license suspended for a minimum of 30 days. The length of the suspension varies according to the seriousness of the traffic offenses. A driver may be
required to complete a driver remedial education course as part of reinstatement of
driving privileges. A suspended driver may be, but is not always, eligible for a
Restricted Driving Permit during the suspension period.
• Driver’s License Suspension for Alcohol Consumption — A person under
age 21 who receives court supervision for possession, consumption, purchase or
receipt of alcohol will receive a three-month driver’s license suspension. A conviction will result in a minimum six-month suspension of driving privileges.
• Driver’s License Suspension for Nighttime Driving Restriction Violation
— A person under age 18 who violates the nighttime driving restriction during the
Permit Phase or the Initial Licensing Phase listed on pages 15-16 may have their
driving privileges suspended.
• Crash Involving Bodily Harm or Death — A person under age 18 charged
with an offense due to a crash where a passenger was seriously injured or killed
may be denied issuance/renewal of his/her driver’s license. Alcohol need not play
a factor in the crash.
• Non-Adjudicated Traffic Citation — A person under age 18 who has been
issued a traffic citation that has not been adjudicated by the courts may be denied
issuance of his/her driver’s license.

Chapter 3 Study Questions
1. During the Initial Licensing Phase, a teen driver is allowed only two passengers
under age 20 in the vehicle during the first 12 months of licensing.
o True
o False
2. In order to obtain court supervision for a traffic violation, a minor must appear
in court with a parent/legal guardian and attend a traffic safety school.
o True
o False
3. A parent or legal guardian may request that the driver’s license of a minor be
cancelled at any time prior to age 18.
o True
o False
18

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 19

Chapter 4: Traffic Laws
Traffic laws protect all who share our streets and highways. It is important to obey the
orders of a police officer, firefighter, highway authority official or uniformed adult
school crossing guard who is directing traffic or performing his/her official duties.

Distracted Driving
Illinois law prohibits the use of hand-held cellphones, texting or using other electronic
communications while operating a motor vehicle. Hands-free devices or Bluetooth
technology is allowed for persons age 19 and older.
Even using hands-free technology is considered a distraction while driving and can be
dangerous. If you must make a phone call, even with hands-free technology, it is recommended that you pull off to the side of the road before making the call.
The only time Illinois drivers can use a hand-held cellphone is:
• To report an emergency situation.
• While parked on the shoulder of a roadway.
• While stopped due to normal traffic being obstructed and the vehicle is in neutral
or park.
Drivers who are in a crash resulting from distracted driving may face criminal
penalties and incarceration.

Safety Belt Law
Illinois law requires all drivers and passengers (front and back seat) age 8 and older
to wear safety belts even if the vehicle is equipped with air bags. Passengers under
age 8 must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system as covered by the Child
Passenger Protection Act (see page 20). When riding in a truck with only a front seat
equipped with safety belts, a child under age eight must be secured in an appropriate
child restraint system.
If a passenger has a disability or medical condition that makes him/her unable to
secure his/her own safety belt, the driver is responsible for securing and adjusting the
safety belt for that passenger.
It is the responsibility of the driver to ensure that ALL passengers obey the safety belt
law and the Child Passenger Protection Act. Anyone found guilty of disobeying this
law is subject to a fine and court costs.

19

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 20

Safety Belt Fitting
The lap belt should be worn across the hip bones and should never be positioned
across the stomach or soft part of the abdomen. The shoulder strap should be as snug
as possible yet allow the driver to reach important controls. Adjust the shoulder strap
so it is comfortable and does not cross the body at or near the neck or face.
Air Bag Safety
Air bags are designed to provide supplemental protection in combination with safety
belts. Air bags are lifesaving devices, but special precautions should be taken when
driving in air bag-equipped vehicles.
A distance of 10-12 inches between the driver and the air bag is desirable, especially
for short, elderly or pregnant drivers. Shorter drivers may use foot pedal extenders.
Passengers should position their seats as far back as possible, tilting the seat back
slightly if necessary.
Children riding in the front seat can be seriously injured or killed when an air bag
deploys in a crash. Therefore, it is recommended that children age 12 and younger be
properly secured in the back seat. If a child under age eight must ride in the front passenger seat with an active air bag, he/she should be in a properly installed, appropriate forward-facing child safety seat with the seat as far back as possible. Rear-facing
child safety seats should be secured only in the back seat of a vehicle and should
never be installed in front of an active air bag.

Child Passenger Protection Act
The Child Passenger Protection Act requires that all children under age eight be properly secured in an appropriate child safety restraint system. This includes the use of
booster seats, which must only be used with a lap/shoulder safety belt. If the back
seat of the vehicle is not equipped with lap/shoulder type safety belts, a child weighing more than 40 pounds may be transported in the back seat without a booster seat,
secured with a lap belt only.

20

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 21

Speed Limits
Speeding is one of the leading contributors to vehicle crashes. You may drive at the maximum allowable speed only under safe conditions. For safety purposes, a minimum
speed limit may be posted along certain roadways. When minimum limits are not posted, drivers should not drive so slow as to create an interference with the normal movement of traffic. The following speed limits apply, unless otherwise posted:
• Interstates and tollways — 70 mph
• Highways with four lanes — 65 mph
• Other highways and rural areas — 55 mph
• City/Town Areas — 30 mph
• Alleys — 15 mph
• School Zones — 20 mph (on school days between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. when children
are present and signs are posted).
A driver must take care to slow down when approaching and crossing an intersection,
going around a curve, approaching the top of a hill or traveling on a narrow and winding
roadway. Drivers must be aware that there may always be dangers present due to
pedestrians, traffic, weather, mechanical problems or road conditions.
Local entities have the discretion to post speed limits different from those listed.
Always watch for speed-limit signs when traveling on roadways.

Construction Zones, Emergency Vehicles,
School Zones and Funeral Processions
Construction Zones
When approaching or entering a highway construction or maintenance area (also
known as work zones), Illinois law requires motorists to slow down, discontinue wireless/cellphone use (unless using a hands-free device that may include the use of a
single-sided headset), yield to any authorized vehicles or workers in the area, change
to a lane away from the workers when possible and proceed with caution.
Emergency/Maintenance Vehicles
When approaching a stationary emergency/maintenance vehicle using visual signals,
Illinois law requires motorists to yield, change to a lane away from the emergency workers when possible and proceed with caution. If a lane change is not possible, reduce
speed and proceed with caution. Illinois law prohibits photography and the use of wireless/cellphones within 500 feet of an emergency scene, except in certain circumstances.
When being approached by an emergency vehicle using audible and visual signals
(lights and/or sirens), Illinois law requires motorists to immediately pull to the right side
of the road and allow the emergency vehicle to pass. In some cases a complete stop
21

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 22

may be necessary to allow the emergency vehicle to pass. If stopped at an intersection
with two-way traffic, remain stopped until the emergency vehicle passes.

School Zones
When approaching a marked school zone between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m., on days when
school is in operation and children are present, a driver must discontinue wireless/cellphone use (unless using a hands-free device that may include the use of a single-sided
headset), reduce speed to 20 mph, and stop and yield the right-of-way to any children
or adults in the crosswalk area.
Funeral Processions
Motorists encountering a funeral procession must yield the right-of-way to all vehicles
in the procession. Motorists should NOT drive between vehicles in an organized funeral procession, except when required to do so by a law enforcement officer; join a
funeral procession for the purpose of securing the right-of-way; or attempt to pass any
vehicle in an organized funeral procession, except where a passing lane has been
specifically provided. Local municipalities may impound a vehicle that interferes with
a funeral procession due to reckless driving.

Right-of-Way
A driver must yield the right-of-way to other drivers or pedestrians:
• When making a right turn on a red light after a complete stop.
• After coming to a complete stop at an intersection where there is a stop sign or
flashing red signal. If there is no stop line, stop before the crosswalk. If there is no
crosswalk or stop line, stop at a place where all approaching traffic can be seen.
• When making a left turn on a red light after a stop from a one-way street to another
one-way street with traffic moving to the left (see Figure A on page 23).
• When more than one driver reaches a four-way stop intersection. The first driver to
stop should be the first to go. When two vehicles on different roadways arrive at a
four-way stop intersection at the same time, the vehicle on the left should yield to
the vehicle on the right (see Figure B on page 23).
• When entering an intersection with a flashing yellow arrow.
• When two vehicles on different roadways reach an uncontrolled intersection at the
same time. The vehicle on the left should yield to the vehicle on the right.
• To oncoming traffic when making a left-hand turn. If you enter an intersection while
the light is green, you may finish your turn even though the light turns red.
• To through traffic when approaching a MERGE sign. You must increase or decrease
your speed to avoid a crash.
• When approaching a YIELD sign. You should slow down or stop to avoid a crash.
• Even after the light turns green when there are vehicles in the intersection.
• When emerging from an alley, building, private road or driveway after coming to a
complete stop (see Figure C on page 23).
• To cross traffic when on the terminating highway of a “T” intersection with no traffic control signs or signals (see Figure D on page 23).
• When approaching emergency vehicles using audible and visual signals.
22

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 23

Figure B

Figure A

“A” and “B” yield to “C”
because “C” arrived at
intersection first.

“A” yields to “B” before turning
from one-way street onto
one-way street moving left.

“A” yields to “B” because
“B” is on the right.

“B” yields to “A” at “T”
intersection with no
signs or signals.

“B” yields to “A” before
entering roadway from
alley or driveway.

Figure D

Figure C

Pedestrian Right-of-Way
A driver must come to a complete stop (and yield):
• When a pedestrian is in a marked crosswalk.
• On school days, when children are in close proximity to a school zone crosswalk.
A driver must yield to a pedestrian:
• When a pedestrian is in an unmarked crosswalk on the driver’s side of the roadway
and there are no traffic control signals.
• When making a turn at any intersection.
• When making a lawful turn on a red light after coming to a complete stop.
• After coming to a complete stop at a stop sign or flashing red signal at an intersection.
• When a pedestrian enters a crosswalk before the traffic light changed.
• When a pedestrian is walking with a green light, to a walking person symbol or a
walk signal.
• When a pedestrian is leaving or entering a street or highway from an alley, building,
private road or driveway.
• When a pedestrian is entering an intersection with a flashing yellow arrow.
23

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 24

Drivers also must yield to workers in highway construction or maintenance areas as
well as to persons with disabilities, including those with physical, hearing and visual
disabilities.

Passing
A driver must use caution when passing another vehicle. On a two-lane highway, the
left lane should be clearly seen and free of oncoming traffic for a distance great
enough to permit passing. Do not turn back into the right-hand lane until you can see
the entire vehicle you have just passed in your rearview mirror. You must return to your
lane before you get within 200 feet of an oncoming vehicle. The driver you are passing
must not increase speed until you have completed your passing.
Driving off the pavement or main traveled part of the road is not allowed when passing
another vehicle on the right or the left. When passing a bicyclist or pedestrian who is
riding or walking on the road or shoulder of the roadway, you must keep a minimum of
three feet between your vehicle and the bicyclist or pedestrian.
Do Not Pass — Black Car is Breaking the Law

No Passing Zone

Curve

Hill

Railroad, Bridge, Tunnel, Viaduct

24

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 25

You may pass on the right (but not on the shoulder except for authorized vehicles):
• When you have enough room on a two-lane roadway, and when the vehicle you are
passing is making or is about to make a left turn.
• On a one-way street or on a roadway with two or more clear lanes in each direction.
• At an intersection widened for this purpose.
Passing on a two-lane, two-way roadway is not allowed:
• In an area marked for no passing by a solid yellow line on your side of the center of
the roadway or a DO NOT PASS or NO PASSING ZONE sign.
• On a hill or curve where it is not possible to see oncoming vehicles.
• Within 100 feet of an intersection or railroad crossing.
• When the view is blocked within 100 feet of any bridge, viaduct or tunnel.
• When a vehicle has stopped at a crosswalk or intersection to allow a pedestrian to
cross.
• In a construction zone. All constructions zones in Illinois are no passing zones.
• In any school zone located in an unincorporated area.
• In any posted school zone in an incorporated area.
• When a school bus has stopped to load or discharge passengers.

Lane Usage
You must drive on the right half of the roadway except:
• When passing another vehicle moving in the same direction on a two-lane highway,
interstate highway or controlled freeway.
• When a blockage makes it necessary to drive to the left of the center line. You may
drive on the left after yielding to oncoming traffic.
• On a roadway divided into three marked lanes for traffic.
• On a one-way street with two or more lanes of traffic.
• When directed to drive in a left lane by traffic control signs and signals on a multilane, two-way highway.
• When crossing the center line to make a left turn into or from an alley, private road
or driveway.
• When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle (when it is safe to do so).
• When roadway construction is located in or in close proximity to the right lane or
right shoulder.
When driving on an interstate highway or full access controlled freeway, a person may not
drive in the left lane(s), except when passing another vehicle. Exceptions include when:
• No other vehicle is directly behind the vehicle being driven in the left lane.
• Traffic conditions/congestion make it impractical to drive in the right lane.
• Weather conditions make it necessary to use the left lane(s).
• There is an obstruction or hazard in the right lane.
• The driver is changing lanes to yield to emergency or construction vehicles.
25

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 26

Additional rules apply in certain situations:
• Slow vehicles must use the right-hand lane except when passing or making a left turn.
• Weaving from lane to lane to move faster than the traffic flow is unlawful.
• Traffic must travel in the direction of posted one-way streets or roadways. This rule
does not apply to police and emergency vehicles using sirens or flashing lights.
• It is unlawful to drive across median strips such as unpaved strips or median barriers. A driver may turn left across a paved dividing-space unless it is not permitted
by a traffic control sign or signal.
• A driver must not enter or leave any controlled-access roadway except at a posted
entrance or exit.

Signaling
In a business or residential area you must give a continuous turn signal for at least
100 feet before turning. In other areas, the signal must be given at least 200 feet
before turning. Drivers may signal in two ways:
• Electrical turn signals — Apply the right turn signal for a right turn and the left
turn signal for a left turn.
• Hand and arm signals — Should be given with your left arm. For a right turn, the
hand and arm are extended straight up. For a left turn, the hand and arm are extended
straight out to the left. To slow down or stop, the hand and arm are extended down.

Right Turn

Left Turn

Slow or Stop

Turning
Right Turns
• Give a right-turn signal from the proper turning lane.
• Obey traffic signs and signals.
• Yield the right-of-way to pedestrians, emergency vehicles and other vehicles in the
intersection.
• Check traffic approaching from the left.
• Follow the general curve of the curb as you make the right turn. Stay as close as
possible to the curb.
26

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 27

• Turn into the right-hand lane of the roadway you are entering.
• Be aware that trucks and buses may need more space to make a right-hand turn.

Left Turns
• Give a left turn signal from the proper turning lane.
• Obey traffic signs and signals.
• Yield the right-of-way to pedestrians, emergency vehicles and other vehicles in the
intersection.
• Check all approaching traffic.
• Point the wheels straight ahead until you actually start to turn.
• Complete the turn into the lane closest to you going in your intended direction.
Changing Lanes
• When moving your vehicle from the right-hand lane to the left-hand lane, turn your
head to check traffic behind you and on your left. Give the left turn signal, then carefully move into the left lane.

Two-Way

Two-Way
One-Way

One-Way

One-Way

One-Way

27

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 28

• When moving your vehicle from the left-hand lane to the right-hand lane, turn your
head to check traffic behind you and on your right. Give the right turn signal, then
carefully move into the right lane. It is against the law to flash your turn signals as
a courtesy or “do pass” signal to other drivers.

U-Turns
• You must not turn around on curves and hills unless you can see for at least 500 feet
in all directions.
• Municipalities may prohibit U-turns on some roadways.
Hazard Signal
Both turn signals may be flashed at the same time to indicate a disabled or parked
vehicle.
Two-Way Left Turn Lanes
The two-way left turn lane provides a safe area for cars making left turns at intersections
or for cars turning left into or out of a drive located in the middle of the block.
Turns and Lane Changes in Construction Zones
Pay special attention to signs, barricades and pavement markings when turning or
changing lanes.

Rotaries and Roundabouts
A rotary or roundabout is an intersection of roads coming together from several directions and allows you to continue through without stopping at a stop sign or a traffic
signal. Traffic travels counterclockwise. Always yield the right-of-way to vehicles and
pedestrians (unless otherwise informed by signs or law enforcement). Use your turn
signals in the same way as any other intersection.

Special Stops
School Buses
You must stop before meeting or overtaking a school bus loading or unloading passengers on a two-lane roadway.
A warning will be given at least 100
feet (200 feet in rural areas) in advance
of a stop. The bus driver will flash
amber and red lights on the front and
rear of the bus. The stop signal arm will
be extended after the school bus has
28

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 29

come to a complete stop. You must then come to a complete stop. You must remain
stopped until the stop signal arm is no longer extended and the flashing lights are
turned off or the driver signals you to pass.
On a four-lane roadway where a bus is stopped in the opposite direction from which you
are traveling, you are not required to stop your vehicle but you should drive with caution.
Your driver’s license or vehicle registration will be suspended for three months and you will
pay a minimum $150 fine if you are convicted of illegally passing a stopped school bus.

Railroad Crossings
When approaching a controlled or uncontrolled railroad crossing and the devices are
not activated, you should slow down and look in both directions on the track for
oncoming trains or railroad equipment. If safe to do so, proceed with caution across
the railroad crossing.
At a controlled crossing (containing lights and gates), you must stop if the crossing
gate is lowered or a signal is flashing. Proceed only after the gate is all the way up,
the lights are no longer flashing, and you have visually checked all the tracks for any
additional oncoming trains or railroad equipment.
School buses, vehicles carrying hazardous materials and vehicles carrying
passengers for hire must stop at all railroad grade crossings.

Alleys/Driveways
In urban areas, drivers must come to a complete stop before entering the sidewalk area
when moving out of an alley, building, private road or driveway. If there is no sidewalk,
stop at a point nearest the street or roadway where there is a view of approaching traffic.
After stopping, yield the right-of-way to pedestrians and all vehicles.

Parking
Hill Parking
Any time you park on a hill, you should put the gear select in park and set the parking/emergency brake if necessary. When starting your vehicle from an uphill or downhill location, you should release the parking/emergency brake, give the correct signal,
check for oncoming traffic and proceed when it is safe to do so.
• If you park on a street with curbing and your vehicle is facing downhill, turn the
front wheels toward the curb so your vehicle will roll toward the curb (see page 30).
• If you park your vehicle facing uphill and there is a curb, turn the front wheels away
from the curb (see page 30).
• If you park on a street without curbing, turn the wheels toward the side of the road
on which you are parked (see page 30).
29

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 30

Downhill
Turns Wheels to Curb

Uphill with Curb
Turn Wheels from Curb

Uphill or Downhill without Curb
Turn Wheels to Right

Parallel Parking
When parking on streets with two-way traffic, park so the right-hand wheels are parallel to and within 12 inches of the curb. On a one-way street or road, park within 12
inches of the right or left curb. Vehicles must be parked in the direction in which traffic
is moving.
Parking for Persons with Disabilities
Vehicles displaying license plates or parking placards for persons
with disabilities may park in spaces reserved for persons with disabilities. The authorized holder of the parking placard or plates
must be present and must enter or exit the vehicle at the time the
parking privileges are being used. Striped areas on the pavement
are part of the reserved spaces and may not be parked in by anyone. For more information on the Parking Program for Persons with
Disabilities, see pages 91-92.

Prohibited Stopping, Standing, Parking
Stopping, standing or parking is prohibited in specified places. Local stopping, standing and parking regulations may be posted on signs. There are, however, statewide
regulations that are not always indicated by signs.
Stopping, standing or parking is prohibited:
• On the roadway side of any parked vehicle (double parking).
• On a sidewalk, crosswalk or within an intersection.
• Between a safety zone and the adjacent curb.
• Beside or opposite any street excavation or obstruction if your vehicle would block
traffic.
• On any bridge, overpass, railroad track or within a highway tunnel.
• On any controlled access roadway — one you may enter or exit only at certain points.
30

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 31

• In the area between roadways of a divided highway, including crossovers.
• On a paved roadway or highway outside business or residential districts when it is
practical to stop or park off the roadway. In an emergency, you may stop and park
only if there is a clear view for 200 feet in each direction. Turn on your emergency
flashers and make sure there is enough space for other vehicles to pass.
• At any place where official signs prohibit stopping, standing or parking.
Standing or parking a vehicle, whether occupied or not, is prohibited:
• In front of a public or private driveway.
• Within 15 feet of a fire hydrant.
• Within 20 feet of a fire station driveway or crosswalk at an intersection.
• Within 30 feet of a STOP sign, YIELD sign or traffic control signal.
Parking a vehicle, whether occupied or not, is prohibited:
• Within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing.
• On a highway between sunset and sunrise unless parking lights are displayed in
front and rear, or you are within an urban district where lights are not required.
Headlights on parked vehicles must be dimmed.

Additional Laws
Motorists should familiarize themselves with local laws as there may be a variance
between municipalities. Illinois law states that you may not:
• Drive on a sidewalk except when it is part of a driveway.
• Back up on any shoulder or roadway of any controlled access roadway.
• Back up on other roadways unless it is done safely and does not interfere with other
vehicles.
• Open doors on the side of a vehicle on which traffic is moving unless it can be done
safely and without interfering with traffic. The door may remain open only long
enough to load or unload passengers.
• Wear a headset while driving. Headsets are defined as any device, other than a hearing aid, that allows the wearer to hear or receive electronic communications. (The use
of a single-sided headset or earpiece with a wireless/cellphone device is permitted
while driving.) Motorcycle, motor-driven cycle and moped operators may use intercom
helmets that permit drivers and/or passengers to speak to one another.
• Drive onto a railroad crossing, enter an intersection or drive within a marked crosswalk unless there is enough space to allow passage of other vehicles, pedestrians
or railroad trains.
• Drive over fire hoses unless permitted by the fire official in command.
• Push a vehicle on a rural highway unless there is an emergency and it should be
removed to avoid a hazard.
31

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 32

• Tow one vehicle with another except by a drawbar. In most cases, the distance
between the two cars should not exceed 15 feet. A towed vehicle also should be
coupled to the towing vehicle with two chains or cables.
• Remove a wrecked or damaged vehicle from the roadway without removing all
glass and other debris.
• Overload a vehicle with passengers or freight so that the driver’s view is obstructed.
No more than three persons should ride in the front seat of a vehicle.
• Ride in a house trailer while it is being moved on a street or highway.
• Operate or permit to be operated any sound system (radio, tape player or disc player) at a volume that can be heard 75 feet or more from a vehicle being driven on a
highway.

Chapter 4 Study Questions
1. When passing another vehicle, a driver should wait until the entire car the driver
just passed is visible in the rearview mirror before turning back into the righthand lane.
o True
o False
2. After making a proper stop and yielding to traffic or pedestrians within the intersection, it is permissible for drivers on a one-way street to turn left at a red light
onto another one-way street that moves traffic to the left.
o True
o False
3. How should a driver proceed if within an intersection waiting to make a left turn
and the traffic signal light turns red?
a. Wait in the intersection until the light turns green.
b. Yield to oncoming traffic and complete the turn.
c. Make sure it is clear, then back up from the intersection.
4. When on a two-lane roadway, drivers must stop their vehicles when approaching a stopped school bus with its red warning lights flashing and its stop signal
arm extended.
o True
o False
5. When an authorized vehicle using its sirens and flashing lights approaches a
vehicle, the driver should pull to the right-hand edge of the roadway and wait
for the emergency vehicle to pass.
o True
o False

32

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 33

6. What is the penalty for being convicted of illegally passing a stopped school bus?
a. Driving privileges or vehicle registration suspension and a minimum $150
fine.
b. 60-day suspension of driving privileges.
c. $30 fine and 14-day suspension of driving privileges.
7. A driver may pass another vehicle by driving on the shoulder of the road.
o True
o False
8. It is permissible to make a right turn against a red signal light after stopping and
yielding to other vehicles and pedestrians.
o True
o False
9. A driver must give the right or left turn signal when changing lanes.
o True
o False
10.In urban areas, drivers moving out of an alley, building, private road or driveway
need not come to a complete stop before entering the roadway if the roadway
is clear of traffic.
o True
o False
11.For what distance should a continuous turn signal be given when making a left
or right turn in a business or residential district?
a. Not less than 50 feet before turning.
b. Not less than 75 feet before turning.
c. Not less than 100 feet before turning.
12.A driver may proceed immediately when waiting at an intersection and the traffic signal light turns green.
o True
o False
13.What should drivers do when approaching a construction area?
a. Increase their speed to get out of the way quickly.
b. Slow down, stop all wireless telephone communications and yield the
right-of-way.
c. Honk their horn several times to alert individuals working in the area of
their presence.
14.Drivers must yield to pedestrians in an unmarked crosswalk.
o True
o False

33

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 34

15.It is legal for anyone to talk on the phone if using a hands-free device while
driving, unless you are under age 19.
o True
o False
16.Speed should be reduced below the posted speed limit for which of the following reasons?
a. Driver is driving in unfavorable weather conditions.
b. Driver is approaching and crossing an intersection.
c. Both of the above.
17.Slow vehicles should use the left-hand lane except when passing or making a
left turn.
o True
o False
18.When must a driver slow down for a school zone?
a. On school days between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. when children are present and
signs are posted.
b. On weekends.
c. Only during recess.
19.Drivers may open car doors on the side on which traffic is moving only when it
can be done safely and without interfering with traffic.
o True
o False
20.It is permissible to pass on a two-lane, two-way roadway within 100 feet of an
intersection or railroad crossing.
o True
o False
21.Only vehicles displaying special plates or parking placards for persons with disabilities may park in spaces reserved for them by an official PARKING FOR PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES sign.
o True
o False
22.Unless authorized to do so, drivers may not break into the line of a funeral procession.
o True
o False

34

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 35

Chapter 5: Sharing the Road
Drivers of passenger vehicles must share the road with many types of vehicles and
pedestrians.

Large Vehicles
When sharing the road with trucks, buses or other large vehicles, follow these tips:
• When following a large vehicle, stay out of its blind spots. Position your vehicle so
the driver can see it in the side mirrors.
1
• Pay close attention to turn signals, and give large vehicles plenty of room to maneuver and make turns. Large
vehicles make wide right turns and sometimes leave an
3
4
open space to the right just before the turn.
• Size and weight affect a vehicle’s ability to maneuver and
stop. Always allow extra space for large vehicles.
• When following a truck at night, always dim your headlights. Bright lights will blind the driver of the large vehicle
2
when they reflect off the large side mirrors.
• When passing a truck, let the driver know you are passing
by blinking your headlights, especially at night. The driver will make it easier for
you by staying to the far side of the lane. Complete your pass as quickly as possible,
and don’t stay alongside the vehicle.
NO ZONE

NO
ZONE

NO
ZONE

NO ZONE

Slow-Moving Vehicles
Certain slow-moving farm vehicles, construction equipment and animal-drawn vehicles may share our roadways. Use caution and prepare to slow down when approaching and passing slow-moving vehicles from the rear. An orange slow-moving vehicle
emblem must be on the rear of certain slow-moving vehicles (see page 68).

Closing Speeds
Normal speeds for slow-moving vehicles may range from 5-20 mph. When a vehicle
traveling at normal highway speed approaches a slow-moving vehicle from the rear,
the speed differential will dramatically shorten the time it takes to reach the slowmoving vehicle.
Turns and Passing
Slow-moving vehicles may make wide turns and may turn right or left at any time into
unmarked entrances. When approaching from the rear, stay a safe distance behind the
vehicle until it is safe to pass, then be certain the driver has seen you and is aware of
your intent to pass before you begin.
35

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 36

Rear Light
When lights are required, a flashing amber signal must be mounted as high as possible
on the rear of the vehicle. It must be visible for 500 feet in sunlight. Other devices to identify slow-moving vehicles may include reflectors, rotating or oscillating amber lights.
Lane Usage
Slower traffic must drive in the right lane. The left lane is for passing and turning. Slowmoving vehicles may be wider than the lane width so it may be necessary for these vehicles to temporarily move into an adjoining lane to avoid roadside obstructions.

Pedestrians
Drivers and pedestrians both are responsible for traffic safety. Drivers should always
be prepared to yield the right-of-way and should not drive unnecessarily close to pedestrians. (See page 23 for more information on pedestrian right-of-way.)

Traffic Signals, Walk Lights and Crossings
Pedestrians must yield the right-of-way to drivers by obeying traffic signals, observing
walk lights and using crosswalks.
• Walk (walking person) — Pedestrians facing the signal may
cross the roadway in the direction of the signal.
• Don’t Walk (flashing orange upraised hand) — Pedestrians may
not start entering the roadway. A pedestrian who has partially
completed crossing during the constantly lit walk signal may
continue to a sidewalk or safety island.
• Don’t Walk (constantly lit orange upraised hand) — Pedestrians
may not enter the roadway.
• Yellow Light (constant upraised hand) — Pedestrians may not
cross unless directed by a pedestrian control sign or police officer.
Crossing a Road
When crossing at any place other than a marked or unmarked crosswalk, pedestrians
must give the right-of-way to drivers. This includes between closely-spaced intersections where traffic signals are in operation.
Tunnel and Pedestrian Crossings
A pedestrian tunnel or pedestrian crossing bridge should be used when available.
Roadways
Pedestrians must not walk on a roadway unless there is no sidewalk or shoulder next
to it. Under these conditions, pedestrians should always walk as close to the outside
edge of the road as possible. In two-way traffic, pedestrians should walk facing
36

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 37

oncoming traffic. If a highway does not have a sidewalk but has a shoulder, pedestrians should always walk on the shoulder as far from the roadway as possible.
Pedestrians should not walk on a highway when under the influence of alcohol or
other drugs.

Pedestrians With Disabilities
When approaching a pedestrian with a disability who is utilizing a guide dog, a white
cane, a wheelchair or other assistive device on a sidewalk or roadway, the pedestrian
has the right-of-way and is granted the same rights as any pedestrian.
Joggers/Walkers
Joggers/walkers should use jogging paths when provided. On public roads, joggers/
walkers should try to select wide roads with good shoulders. They should face oncoming
traffic and remember to look and listen for cars. At night or any time visibility is poor,
joggers/walkers should be in well-lighted areas and wear reflective clothing.
Other Safety Concerns
• Pedestrians must always obey railroad and bridge gates and other barriers.
• Hitchhiking — standing on the roadway to ask for a ride — is illegal.
• Pedestrians should not stand on or next to a highway to ask drivers or passengers
for any type of money or business.
• Pedestrians age 18 or older may skate on public roadways where the posted speed
limit is 45 mph or less from sunrise to sunset as long as vehicular traffic is not
impeded or obstructed.

Children
Drivers and parents must use care to ensure the safety of children.
• Watch for signs that mark special hazard areas such as school zones, bus stops,
playgrounds, parks and schools.
• Be ready to reduce speed in residential areas, school areas and places where children are most likely to be.
• Be extremely watchful when backing in or out of a driveway when children are near.
• Teach children the rights and responsibilities of pedestrians at an early age.
• Assign play areas for children. Make sure children do not play in or near streets,
driveways or other dangerous areas.

Motorcycles
Motorcycle riders have the same rights and responsibilities as other roadway users.
Because of their size and vulnerability in a crash, it is important to pay special attention to motorcycles.
37

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 38

Intersections
More than 50 percent of all motorcycle collisions occur at intersections. The most
common situation occurs when an oncoming automobile makes a left turn in front of
a motorcycle. Watch for motorcycles before turning and yield the right-of-way. Be particularly careful when making a left turn across lanes of oncoming traffic. Always use
your signals and look in all directions before making the turn. Don’t be misled by a
flashing turn signal on a motorcycle — motorcycle signals usually are not self-canceling and riders sometimes forget to turn them off. Wait to be sure the motorcycle is
going to turn before you proceed.
Red Stoplights
A motorcycle rider may proceed, after yielding the right-of-way to oncoming traffic,
through a red light that fails to turn green after waiting for at least 120 seconds.
Visibility
The failure of motorists to detect and recognize motorcycles in traffic is the most common cause of motorcycle collisions. Due to their small size, motorcycles may be difficult to see, and motorists tend to underestimate their speed. Expect to see motorcycles in traffic at any time, not just in the spring and summer. Drivers involved in collisions often report not seeing the motorcycle or seeing it too late to avoid a collision.
Lane Sharing
Traffic conditions and road surfaces will determine the area within the lane that the
motorcyclist will use. Oil spills, potholes, gravel or debris may require the motorcyclist
to adjust positions within the lane. Although there may be enough room in the traffic
lane for an automobile and a motorcyclist, remember that the motorcyclist needs the
room to maneuver safely and is entitled to the entire lane. Do not share the lane.
Passing
When your automobile is being passed by a motorcycle, you should maintain your lane
position and speed. Allow the motorcycle to complete the maneuver and assume
proper lane position as quickly as possible.
Following Distance
Allow at least three to four seconds following distance when behind a motorcycle so
the motorcyclist has enough time to maneuver in an emergency. In dry conditions
motorcycles can stop more quickly than a car. Dim your headlights when following all
vehicles, including motorcycles.
Stopping Distance
Motorcycles can stop in a shorter distance than a car. A motorcyclist’s ability to stop
quickly also may depend on the rider’s experience and training.
38

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 39

Road Conditions
Motorcycles react differently to traffic, weather and road conditions than cars. Thus,
riders often respond in ways drivers do not expect. Wet or icy roads impair a motorcyclist’s ability to brake and maneuver. Wind gusts, both natural and those created by
large passing vehicles, can move a motorcycle across an entire lane if the rider is not
prepared. Potholes or railroad tracks often require motorcyclists to change positions
within their lane. Gravel roads decrease traction and may cause a rider to slow down
or brake where a car would not.
In Case of a Collision
Motorcyclists may only be protected by a helmet, eye protection, boots, gloves and
durable clothing. In the event of a collision, use extreme caution and seek emergency
medical assistance.
For more information, the Illinois Motorcycle Operators Manual is available at your
local Driver Services facility or at www.cyberdriveillinois.com.

Autocycle
An autocycle is a three-wheeled vehicle that has a steering wheel and seating that
does not require the driver to straddle or sit astride it. This type of vehicle may be
operated on Illinois roadways when correctly titled and registered with the Secretary
of State. The operator of the vehicle must have a valid Illinois driver’s license to legally
operate the vehicle (See Chapter 1.)

Scooters and Mopeds
Only motor-driven cycles and motorcycles that are properly titled and registered in
Illinois may be legally operated on Illinois roadways. A scooter within one of these
categories may be titled and registered in Illinois if it displays a federal safety certification label in addition to a vehicle identification number (VIN).
Scooter or moped drivers must obey all signs, signals and traffic laws and are subject
to most laws regarding the use of bicycles. Mopeds or scooters carrying two people
must be equipped with a seat and footrest for the passenger. If driven at night, it must
have a headlight visible from at least 500 feet and a taillight on the rear that is visible
from at least 100-600 feet.
To determine what type of driver’s license is required to operate a scooter or moped
on Illinois roadways, follow these guidelines:
• If the scooter has an engine less than 150cc displacement, it is a motor-driven cycle
and a Class L motorcycle license is required.
• If the scooter has an engine with 150cc displacement or greater, it is a motorcycle
and a Class M license is required.
39

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 40

• A moped is a motor-driven cycle that has a maximum attainable speed in one mile
or less of 30 mph and produces 2-brake horsepower or less. A moped may be operated with any valid Illinois driver’s license. If a combustion engine is used, it may
not exceed 50cc displacement and may not require the operator to shift gears.

Bicycles
On most roadways, bicyclists (including those on electric bikes) have the same rights
and responsibilities as other roadway users. The following are important laws and
safety tips regarding bicyclists:
• Bicyclists are prohibited on limited-access highways, expressways and certain
other marked roadways.
• Bicyclists are required to travel in the same direction as vehicles.
• Bicyclists should travel just to the right of faster moving traffic. However, certain
hazards such as rough surfaces, debris, drainage grates or a narrow traffic lane may
require bike riders to move toward the center of the lane.
• Drivers must yield the right-of-way to a bicyclist just as they would to another vehicle.
• When passing a bicyclist, motorists must do so slowly and leave at least three feet
of passing space.
• Crowding or threatening a bicyclist is prohibited.
• A motorist should not park or drive in marked bicycle lanes.
• When following bicyclists, give them plenty of room and be prepared to stop quickly. Use extra caution during rainy and icy weather. At night do not use high beams
when you see an oncoming bicycle rider.
• After parking and before opening vehicle doors, a motorist should first check for
bicyclists.
• When a motorist is turning left and there is a bicyclist entering the intersection from
the opposite direction, the driver should wait for the bicyclist to pass before making
the turn. Also, if a motorist is sharing the left turn lane with a bicyclist, stay behind
them until they have safely completed their turn.
• If a motorist is turning right and a bicyclist is approaching on the right, let the bicyclist go through the intersection first before making a right turn. Remember to
always signal when turning.
• Low-speed electric or gas bicycles must have a motor of less than one horsepower
and must be operated by a person who is at least age 16.
• Low-speed electric and gas bicycles may only be driven on streets and may not
exceed 20 mph. They may not be driven on sidewalks.
• Low-speed and electric bicycles must follow all laws applicable to bicyclists.
For more information, an Illinois Bicycle Rules of the Road booklet is available at your
local Driver Services facility or at www.cyberdriveillinois.com.
40

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 41

Low-Speed Vehicles
A low-speed vehicle is any four-wheeled vehicle that has a federal safety certification
label in addition to a vehicle identification number (VIN). Low-speed vehicles can have
a maximum speed of 25 mph. Low-speed vehicles must be titled and registered in the
same manner as other vehicles and have the required equipment in order to operate
on the road, such as headlamps and safety belt. (See Chapter 12 — Equipment for
Safe Driving). Low-speed vehicles may operate on any street with a posted speed limit
of 30 mph or less, unless prohibited by the local municipality.

Snowmobiles
During the winter, drivers may share the roadway with snowmobiles. Use care when
driving in areas with snowmobile warning signs. For information on snowmobile registration and operating requirements, call the Illinois Department of Natural Resources
at 800-382-1696.

Horseback Riders
Horseback riders may use public roadways. Exceptions are limited access highways
and most expressways. Horseback riders must ride in the same direction as other traffic and as far to the right as possible. Never sound a horn when you are near a horse
as the sound may frighten it and cause a crash. When meeting or passing a horseback
rider, do so with caution and be prepared to stop.

Chapter 5 Study Questions
1. When a motorist is turning right and a bicyclist is approaching on the right, let
the bicyclist go through the intersection first before making a right turn.
o True
o False
2. A driver does not need to allow as much distance when following a motorcycle
as when following a car.
o True
o False
3. Motorcyclists are entitled to use the full width of a traffic lane; therefore, a driver should pass a motorcycle the same way a driver would pass another vehicle.
o True
o False
4. When following a truck at night, it is important to dim your headlights.
o True
o False
5. When approaching a disabled pedestrian using a guide dog, white cane or other
assistive device, a driver should yield the right-of-way.
o True
o False
41

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 42

Chapter 6: Driving Under the Influence
Alcohol is the number one killer on American roadways. Alcohol affects your vision and
slows your reaction time so it takes longer to act in an emergency. Alcohol affects your
driving even if you are below the level of illegal intoxication. Drinking even a small
amount of alcohol increases your chances of causing a crash. Do not drink and drive.

Blood-Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
Blood-alcohol concentration is a measurement of the amount of alcohol in your system based on a test of your breath, blood or urine. It is illegal to drive if your BAC is
.08 percent or more. However, you can be convicted of Driving Under the Influence
(DUI) if your BAC is less than .08 percent and your driving ability is impaired. Your BAC
can be affected by:
• The amount you drink — 12 ounces of beer, 5 ounces of wine or 1.5 ounces of hard
liquor contain the same amount of alcohol.
• Your body weight or size. Usually, heavier people have more blood and body fluids
to dilute the alcohol.
Other factors affect your reaction to alcohol, including the food you have eaten, your
tolerance of alcohol and any drugs you may have taken. Time is the only way to
remove the effects of alcohol. Food, coffee and showers do not speed up the elimination of alcohol from your body.

Medical Cannabis (Marijuana)
Illinois law allows for the use of cannabis for medicinal purposes. Individuals authorized to use cannabis must be registered with the Illinois Department of Public Health
and secure a written certification from a physician licensed in Illinois. The Department
of Public Health will issue a registry ID card and a notation will be made on the registrant’s Illinois driving record.
A driver may not operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of cannabis prescribed for medicinal purposes, and may not transport medical cannabis in a vehicle
unless it is stored in a tamper-evident container and kept in an area that is inaccessible while the vehicle is in motion. If a police officer stops a vehicle driven by a person
who holds a medical cannabis registry card and the officer has reasonable suspicion
to believe the person is impaired by the use of cannabis, the driver must submit to
field sobriety testing. Refusal to submit to testing or failure of the field sobriety tests
will result in the suspension of the person’s driver’s license.
Driving while impaired by the use of medical cannabis or driving with an open container may result in the loss of driving privileges as well as revocation of the driver’s
medical cannabis card.
42

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 43

Other Drugs
In addition to alcohol and marijuana, many prescription and nonprescription drugs
impair safe driving. These drugs include but are not limited to: antihistamines, cold
remedies, pain relievers, mood-changing drugs, hashish, LSD, heroin, cocaine, morphine, amphetamines (pep pills) and methamphetamines. Mixing even small amounts
of alcohol with other drugs is very dangerous. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle
on Illinois highways with any trace of a controlled drug, substance or intoxicating
compounds in your blood.

DUI Laws
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense that is classified in Illinois as a
violent crime. If you are convicted of DUI, the offense will permanently remain on your
driving record. If you are arrested and/or convicted, you may lose your driving privileges and vehicle registration, and be fined and/or imprisoned.

Implied Consent Law
When driving on Illinois roadways, you automatically consent to submit to certain
tests. These can include breath, blood and/or urine tests to determine if you were
drinking or using any other drug or intoxicating compound before or while driving. A
doctor, registered nurse, licensed physician assistant or advanced practice nurse must
perform the blood test. You may have a qualified person of your own choosing to
administer more tests at your own expense. If involved in a personal injury or death
crash and law enforcement has probable cause to believe you were impaired they
must request a drug or alcohol test.
If you refuse a breath test or if an officer believes that a blood test may disclose the
presence of drugs, you may be held financially liable up to $500 for the costs of the
blood tests if found guilty of DUI.

Statutory Summary Suspension/Revocation Law
If you are arrested for driving with a BAC of .08 percent or more and/or any impairing
drug in your system, your driving privileges will be suspended for six months. If you
refuse to submit to testing, your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. If you
are a second offender within a five-year period, your privileges will be suspended for
one year if you fail the test or three years if you refuse to test. A test refusal may be
used as evidence against you in the DUI court case. At the time of arrest, the officer
will take your license and, if valid, provide you with a temporary receipt allowing you
to drive for 45 days. Your suspension begins on the 46th day from the notice date and
will not be terminated until you pay the reinstatement fee and your record is updated.
If you refuse to submit to chemical testing after being involved in a crash where serious personal injury or death was involved, your driving privileges will be revoked for
a minimum of one year.
43

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:18 PM Page 44

DUI Conviction
In addition to a statutory summary suspension/revocation, you may be convicted of
driving under the influence of alcohol, other drugs and/or intoxicating compounds.
A DUI conviction results in a revocation of driving privileges:
• A first conviction results in a minimum one-year revocation.
• A second conviction within 20 years results in a minimum five-year revocation.
• A third conviction results in a minimum 10-year revocation.
• A fourth and subsequent conviction results in a lifetime revocation.
A person convicted of DUI with a BAC of .16 percent or more, or DUI while transporting a child under age 16, is subject to enhanced penalties, including additional fines,
community service and jail time.
A DUI conviction also subjects you to filing Financial Responsibility Insurance (SR-22)
for three years. Before your driving privileges are restored, you must undergo an alcohol/drug evaluation and successfully complete a rehabilitation or alcohol/drug education program, pay a reinstatement fee and/or meet other requirements.
If an Illinois resident is convicted of DUI or refusing to submit to alcohol/drug testing
in another state, the conviction will be reported to the Illinois Secretary of State’s
office and be reflected on the person’s driving record. The offender will face administrative action against his/her driving privileges the same as if he/she were arrested
for DUI in Illinois.

Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID)
Any Illinois driver who is a first-time DUI offender and wishes to obtain and is eligible
for driving relief during the statutory summary suspension period may apply for a
Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP). An MDDP requires a Breath Alcohol
Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) to be installed on his/her vehicle(s) at an approved
installation site as a condition of driving relief. The DUI offender is responsible for all
costs associated with issuance of a permit and installation and monitoring of the
BAIID.
If a driver has more than one alcohol-related incident, he/she may apply for a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) and must have a BAIID installed.
A person who has two or three DUI convictions but has never requested or been granted an Illinois Restricted Driving Permit must have a BAIID installed on all vehicles registered in his/her name for a full reinstatement of their driving privileges.
An MDDP or RDP and installation of a BAIID allow an offender to drive as long as
he/she is driving a vehicle installed with a BAIID. For more information on the MDDP
and RDP, see page 54.
44

DSD A 112.25 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 4/3/15 9:40 AM Page 45

The Secretary of State’s office monitors and reads the BAIID throughout the duration
of the permit.The BAIID will alert the Secretary of State’s office if the driver attempts
any incidents of driving under the influence or tampers with the device.
A DUI offender may choose not to petition for a MDDP or a RDP, and instead choose
to refrain from driving during the suspension period. However, a DUI offender who
chooses not to participate in the program and is subsequently caught driving a vehicle
during the suspension period is guilty of a Class 4 felony.

Related DUI Offenses
Aggravated DUI
You may be charged with Aggravated DUI if you:
• Are involved in a death or personal injury crash while driving under the influence.
• Have received a third or subsequent DUI.
• Committed DUI while driving a school bus with children, or operating a vehicle forhire such as a limousine.
• Committed DUI without a valid driver’s license, permit or vehicle insurance.
• Received a DUI after a previous history of reckless homicide or Aggravated DUI
involving a death.
Illegal Transportation of Alcoholic Beverages/Open Container
It is illegal for anyone to drink alcoholic beverages in a vehicle. The driver and passengers may be issued a traffic citation. Passengers on chartered buses used for nonschool purposes, motor homes, mini motor homes and limousines are exempt. It is illegal to have alcohol in the passenger area of a vehicle if the container has been
opened. If there is a second offense within one year, your driver’s license will be suspended for one year. Any driver under age 21 also faces the loss of driving privileges
for one year for the first conviction and revocation of driving privileges for a subsequent conviction while under age 21.
Operating a Motorboat While Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
It is illegal to operate a motorboat under the influence of alcohol, drugs or intoxicating
compounds. If you are involved in a motorboat crash where injuries or death occur,
you may lose your driving privileges for refusing to submit to chemical testing to determine your alcohol-concentration level or for submitting to testing that discloses a BAC
of .08 or more or drugs.
Parental Responsibility
It is illegal for a parent or legal guardian to allow persons under age 21 to consume
alcoholic beverages or fail to control access to alcohol on their private property or on
any property under their control including a vehicle or water craft. If a death or per45

DSD A 112.25 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 4/3/15 9:40 AM Page 46

sonal injury occurs as a result of consumption, the parent or legal guardian may face
criminal penalties.

Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License (for DUI, Reckless Homicide,
or Leaving the Scene of a Fatal or Personal Injury Crash)
If you are convicted of driving while your license is revoked or suspended for the
above offenses, you will:
• Be subject to criminal penalties including jail time,
• Have the suspension or revocation period for your driver’s license extended, and
• Have your vehicle seized and possibly forfeited.
An Illinois driver whose driving privileges have been suspended or revoked due to a
conviction for DUI, reckless homicide or leaving the scene of a fatal or personal injury
crash is not allowed to drive a motor vehicle in ANY state. If a suspended or revoked
Illinois driver is arrested for driving on a suspended or revoked license in another
state, that arrest will be reported to the Secretary of State’s office.

Contributing to a DUI
It is illegal to allow someone to drive your vehicle if you know that person is under the
influence. If you are convicted of providing alcohol to a person under age 21, you may
be fined up to $2,500, be given a jail sentence of up to one year and have your driving
privileges suspended.

Drivers Under Age 21
In Illinois, the minimum legal drinking age is 21. Driver’s licenses for persons under
age 21 are printed vertically with distinctive features. (See inside back cover.)
If you are under age 21 and convicted of DUI, you face the revocation of your driving
privileges for a minimum of two years for a first conviction.
If you are under age 21, are stopped and issued a citation for a traffic violation, and
found to have any trace of alcohol in your system while operating a motor vehicle, your
driving privileges will be suspended for three months. If you refuse to submit to testing,
your driving privileges will be suspended for six months. If you are a second offender,
your privileges will be suspended for one year if you fail or two years if you refuse to
test. Your suspension begins on the 46th day from the notice date and will not be terminated until you pay the reinstatement fee and your record is updated.
If your license was suspended prior to age 21, you will be required to successfully
complete a driver remedial education course to make your driving privileges valid
again. In addition, you may be required to submit to a complete driver’s license examination to be re-issued a driver’s license. It is at the discretion of the investigating offi46

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 47

cer and based on test results or a test refusal whether a traffic stop results in a Zero
Tolerance or DUI charge or both. For more information on Illinois’ Zero Tolerance laws,
visit www.cyberdriveillinois.com.
Any person under age 21 who is convicted of illegal consumption, purchase, possession or receiving alcohol as a gift will lose his/her driving privileges for a minimum of
six months regardless of whether or not they are operating a motor vehicle at the time
of the offense. Any person who receives court supervision for any of these offenses
will lose his/her driving privileges for three months.
Illinois DUI laws are constantly changing. For more detailed information, please refer to
the Secretary of State’s DUI Fact Book, or visit www.cyberdriveillinois.com.

Chapter 6 Study Questions
1. If arrested with a blood-alcohol concentration of .08 percent or more, an individual’s driving privileges will be suspended for at least six months.
o True
o False
2. Alcohol is the single greatest factor in fatal motor vehicle crashes.
o True
o False
3. What is the only effective way to remove alcohol from the body?
a. Strong coffee
b. Time
c. Cold shower
4. If a driver is arrested and refuses to submit to testing, driving privileges will be
suspended for three months.
o True
o False
5. A driver whose license has been revoked as a result of DUI must meet several
requirements, including an evaluation for alcohol and drug problems and paying
a reinstatement fee, to regain their license.
o True
o False
6. It is illegal for persons under age 21 to drive with any trace of alcohol or drugs
in their systems.
o True
o False

47

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 48

Chapter 7: Traffic Violations/Crashes
If you are involved in or come upon a traffic crash:
• Stop your vehicle in a safe, well-lighted public place that does not obstruct traffic,
if able to do so.
• Help any injured person if necessary or requested. First, protect the person from
traffic, then cover the injured person for comfort and to avoid shock. Do not move
an injured person unless absolutely necessary. Do not attempt to give first aid
unless you have been trained in it. Call 911 immediately.
• Someone should warn other drivers by using emergency flashers and flares if available.
• Ask all those involved for their names, addresses, phone numbers, driver’s license
numbers and license plate numbers.
• Except for calling 911, Illinois prohibits wireless/cellphone use (unless using a
hands-free device).

Appearing in Court
If you receive a ticket for a minor traffic violation, a date for a court appearance will
appear on the face of your ticket. If you fail to pay the ticket or to appear in court on
the date indicated, a second court date may be set a minimum of 30 days later. The
clerk of the court will send a notice to you at your last known address. Failure to
appear on the second date will result in the suspension of your driver’s license until
you satisfy the court. If you are under age 18 and are required to appear in court, you
must have a parent/legal guardian present at the court appearance.
An Illinois driver ticketed in another state that is a member of the Non-Resident
Violator Compact has three options:
• Stay in the ticketing state and argue the case,
• Pay the fine, or
• Sign a promise to comply with the traffic ticket, which allows the driver to continue
the journey and handle the ticket by mail from home. This courtesy also is extended
to non-residents from compact member states who are ticketed in Illinois. Failure
to comply with the signed promise to appear will result in suspension by the home
state motor vehicle department.

Crash Reports
Regardless of fault, a crash report must be filed by the driver of a vehicle if the crash
involves death, bodily injury or property damage of more than $1,500. (If any vehicle
involved in the crash is uninsured, a report must be filed for $500 or more.)

48

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 49

• Notify the police immediately. Many towns and cities require a report if a crash occurs
within their limits. If an officer is not at the scene of the crash, a report must be made
at the nearest police station as soon as possible. If in a rural area, the county sheriff
or Illinois State Police must be notified. If the driver is unable to make the report and
there is a passenger, the passenger must make the report.
• A report also must be made to the Illinois Department of Transportation. This confidential report must be sent no later than 10 days after the crash. The form may be
obtained from a police officer or an automobile insurance agency.

Unattended Vehicles
If you are involved in a crash that causes damage to an unattended vehicle (no driver
or passenger present) or other property:
• Stop your vehicle in an area away from traffic.
• Leave your name, address, phone number and license plate number on the vehicle
or property if you cannot find the owner.
• Notify police.
• Complete all required crash reports. If you fail to report the crash, you may be fined
up to $2,500 and given a jail sentence of up to one year.

Leaving the Scene of a Crash
A driver has 30 minutes to report a crash after it occurs. A driver convicted of leaving
the scene of a crash, especially if someone is killed or injured, is subject to criminal
charges. In cases where a death or personal injury has occurred, the Secretary of
State’s office is required to revoke your driver’s license. Also, your driving privileges will
be suspended if there is more than $1,000 in damage to a vehicle.

Safety Responsibility Law
If you are involved in a crash that causes personal injury, the death of a person or more
than $1,500 in damage to property, you must file a crash report. (If any vehicle involved
in the crash is uninsured, a report must be filed for damages of $500 or more.) If you were
at fault in the crash and did not have liability insurance, you must also meet the requirements of the Safety Responsibility Law. This law requires you to post security (a guarantee of payment) to cover damages suffered by the injured party. The Illinois Department
of Transportation determines the amount of the security. If you do not post the required
security, your driver’s license may be suspended until the lawsuit is settled. The owner of
the vehicle involved in the crash also may have his/her license plates/vehicle registration
suspended. Driver’s license or registration privileges will remain suspended until the person provides proof of financial responsibility and maintains the insurance for a period of
three years from the date the proof is first filed.
49

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 50

Individuals convicted of mandatory insurance violations will lose their driving privileges for a minimum of three months and be required to pay a $100 reinstatement fee,
with no driving permit available.

Financial Responsibility Law
You are required to file proof of financial responsibility if any of the following apply:
• You receive an unsatisfied court judgment related to a crash.
• You are suspended under the Safety Responsibility Law due to an uninsured crash.
• You receive court supervision for a mandatory insurance violation.
• You have been convicted of three or more mandatory insurance violations.
Proof of financial responsibility may include a certificate of insurance (SR-22), a bond
or a deposit of securities (such as stock certificates). The SR-22 is filed directly with
the Secretary of State by the insurance company. Through the SR-22 process, the
Secretary of State monitors insurance coverage for a period of time specified by law.
Failure to renew insurance coverage or cancellation of insurance will result in a driver’s license suspension.

Crash Prevention Courses
If you are age 55 or over, you may receive a reduction in your motor vehicle liability
insurance if you successfully complete an eight-hour defensive driving course. Contact
your insurance agent to determine the amount of the reduction. For information about
courses in your area, visit www.aarp.org/drive.

Chapter 7 Study Questions
1. Regardless of fault, a crash report must be filed by the driver of a vehicle if the
crash involves death, bodily injury or property damage of more than $1,500 (or
more than $500 if a vehicle is uninsured).
o True
o False
2. Before a driver can regain driving privileges after losing them for failure to pay
for damages caused by a crash, the driver must file proof of financial responsibility with the Secretary of State’s office.
o True
o False
3. If you are involved in or come upon a traffic crash, you should stop your vehicle
in a safe, well-lighted public place that does not obstruct traffic, if able to do so.
o True
o False

50

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 51

Chapter 8: Driver’s License Revocation,
Suspension, Denial, Cancellation
Revocation
Revocation is the indefinite withdrawal of driving privileges by the Secretary of
State’s office. To regain your driving privileges, you may be eligible to reapply for a
license after a minimum of one year, unless otherwise noted.
The Secretary of State will immediately revoke the driving privileges of someone convicted of a moving violation that caused a crash and resulted in the death of another
person. Other offenses for which your driver’s license may be revoked include, but are
not limited to:
• Aggravated DUI — Causing personal injury or death as a result of a DUI; having
a prior conviction of reckless homicide or aggravated DUI involving a death and
committing a DUI; receiving a third or subsequent DUI conviction; committing a DUI
without a valid license, permit or vehicle insurance; or committing a DUI violation
while transporting children in a school bus.
• Aggravated Fleeing the Police — Driving away from the police when directed to
stop.
• Aggravated Reckless Driving — Driving resulting in great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement to another person.
• Auto Theft — Stealing a motor vehicle or motor vehicle parts.
• Drag Racing or Street Racing — Illegally racing with another vehicle.
• DUI — Driving under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, other drugs and/or intoxicating compounds.
• Felony Offense — A vehicle was used while committing a serious crime.
• Fraudulent ID — Making or possessing the equipment to make, sell, use, attempt
to use or assist another in using an unauthorized, non-governmental issued ID or
driver’s license.
• Gang-related Activity — A gang-related offense involving the use of a vehicle or
an Illinois driver’s license.
• Leaving the Scene — Leaving the scene of a crash that killed or injured someone.
• Perjury — Giving false information to the Secretary of State.
• Reckless Conduct — Reckless behavior involving a vehicle and resulting in injury
or danger to another person.
• Reckless Driving — Conviction of three reckless driving offenses in 12 months or
driving that results in great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement to
another person.
• Reckless Homicide — Driving recklessly, resulting in the death of another person.
The Secretary of State’s office has the authority to revoke the driver’s license of a
51

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 52

repeat traffic offender. During the course of any revocation, your vehicle registration
may be suspended. Notice is given accordingly.

Suspension
Suspension is a temporary loss of driving privileges. When the suspension is for a specific length of time, you may regain your driving privileges after your suspension has
ended and you have paid a reinstatement fee. In other cases, your driver’s license will
not be returned until you meet a requirement of Illinois law.
Offenses for which your driver’s license may be suspended include, but are not limited to:
• Automated Traffic Violations — Failure to satisfy a warrant for five or more
unpaid automated traffic violations for violating a red light signal or speeding or a
combination thereof in a municipality.
• Causing a Crash in a Construction Zone — Failure to reduce speed or change
lanes in a construction zone, which results in property damage to another or injury
or death of another.
• Child Visitation Abuse – Suspension upon receipt of a court order indicating the
driver has engaged in abuse of a child visitation order.
• Drug/Alcohol Test Failure — Failure to pass a test following a DUI arrest, revealing a BAC of .08 percent or more or any trace of cannabis, controlled drug substances or intoxicating compounds.
• Drug/Alcohol Test Refusal — Refusal to test for drugs or alcohol after being
arrested for DUI in Illinois or another state.
• Drug or Sex Offense — Committing a drug or sex crime while operating or in
direct physical control of an automobile.
• Failure to Appear Violations — Failure to appear for any traffic citation.
• Failure to Obey a Railroad-Crossing Signal — Conviction of a second violation
for failure to obey a railroad-crossing signal.
• Failure to Pay Child Support — Suspension for nonpayment of child support
resulting from a court order or by direction of the Illinois Department of Healthcare
and Family Services.
• Failure to Yield to an Emergency Vehicle Using Audible and Visual Signals
(lights and sirens) — Failure to reduce speed to change lanes away from a stationary emergency vehicle that results in property damage to another or injury or
death to another.
• Fraudulent Driver’s License/ID Application — Possessing, displaying or attempting to use an altered driver’s license or ID card; using another person’s license or ID
card or allowing another person to use yours; or submitting a fraudulent application
or allowing another person to submit your documents for a fraudulent application.
• Illegal Possession, Consumption, Purchase of Alcohol, or Accepting Alcohol
as a Gift by a person under age 21
• Illegal Transportation of Alcohol — Illegal transportation of alcohol twice in 12
months if age 21 or older.
52

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 53

• Illegal Transportation Under 21 — Illegal transportation of alcohol while under
age 21.
• Mandatory Insurance Violations — Failure to file Financial Responsibility
Insurance (SR-22) after receiving court supervision for driving without insurance, or
having three or more tickets for driving without insurance.
• Mandatory Insurance Conviction – Driving without mandatory insurance.
• Parking Violations — Failure to pay for 10 or more unpaid parking violations in any
municipality.
• Railroad Crossing Violation — Nonpayment of five or more violations.
• School Bus Violations — Failure to stop for a school bus picking up or dropping off
children, or failure to pay five or more violations of yielding to a stopped school bus
when recorded by a camera.
• Speeding in a Construction Zone — A second violation within two years of the
previous violation of speeding in a construction zone when workers are present.
• Theft of Motor Fuel — Dispensing motor fuel into a container or fuel tank and
leaving the premises without making payment.
• Tollway Violation — Failure to satisfy five or more toll violations and/or toll evasions.
• Traffic Crashes — Refusal or neglect to report a traffic crash.
• Traffic Violations — Three traffic violation convictions during a 12-month period
(If you are under age 21 at the time of arrest, two traffic violations within any 24month period.)
• Unauthorized Parking in a Space Designated for Persons with Disabilities
• Uninsured Crashes — Being uninsured at the time of a crash in which you were
determined to be at fault and for which you owe damages.
• Zero Tolerance Violation — An alcohol violation by a person under age 21.
Driving while your license is suspended or revoked will result in an extension of the
suspension or revocation period and may subject you to a period of incarceration. For
more information on actions that may cause the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges, please consult the Illinois Vehicle Code.

Cancellation
Cancellation is the annulment or termination by formal action by the Secretary of
State’s office of a person’s driver’s license or permit because of some error or defect
in the license or because the licensee is no longer entitled to such license.
Reapplication for a driver’s license may be made only after the terms of the cancellation have been met.
Your driver’s license may be canceled for the following:
• Medical Condition — Being medically or visually unfit to safely operate a motor vehicle; failure to submit a medical or vision report when required; failure to self-admit to a
medical condition that may interfere with the safe operation of a motor vehicle.
53

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 54

• Re-examination Requirement — Failing to appear for a required re-examination;
failing a portion of the test required on a mandatory re-examination.
• Fraudulent Application — Committing a fraudulent offense in the making of an
application.
• Ineligible — Not entitled to the license or permit.

Denial
Denial is the temporary denial of the privilege of applying for a driver’s license and, in
certain instances, an instruction permit. A denial can only be entered on the driving
record of an individual under age 18 for conviction of one of the following offenses:
• Mandatory revocation of driving privileges for offenses listed on page 51 — A
denial for these offenses precludes application for a driver’s license or an instruction
permit until the person’s 18th birthday.
• Driving without a valid driver’s license or permit (no valid license) — Such a
denial forbids application for a driver’s license until the person’s 18th birthday,
while an application for an instruction permit is still allowed. If the person already
has a driver’s license, the driving privileges granted by that license are reduced to
an instruction permit.
• Serious moving violation — The length of this type of denial is either nine months
or until the person’s 18th birthday, whichever is shorter. This denial only forbids an
application for a driver’s license. Instruction permit applications are still allowed. If
the person already has a driver’s license, the driving privileges granted are reduced
to an instruction permit. (See Chapter 3 for more information.)
• Crash Involving Bodily Harm or Death — The Secretary of State’s office may
deny issuing or renewing a driver’s license if the driver has been charged with an
offense due to a crash where a passenger was seriously injured or killed. Alcohol
need not play a factor in the crash.

Special Driving Permits
Illinois drivers whose driving privileges have been revoked or suspended may be
allowed to drive using special permits in some cases.
• Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) — Allows driving only during certain times and
along specified routes for work-related or educational purposes, transporting a child in
the home to and from day care or an acceptable educational institution, or to receive
medical care or drug treatment. An RDP cannot be issued to a person under age 16.
• Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) — Issued to a first-time DUI offender
serving a statutory summary suspension. The MDDP is needed in order for a person
to have a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) installed on his/her vehicle. Issuance of the MDDP and installation of the BAIID allows a driver to legally
operate a motor vehicle at any time of day or night as long as the driver does not
consume alcohol prior to driving and does not tamper with the BAIID unit. An MDDP
cannot be issued to a person under age 18.
54

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 55

• Occupational Driving Permit (ODP) — Issued to professional drivers whose
licenses have been suspended for three moving violations. The permit allows a person to drive in conjunction with employment. To qualify, you must drive for a living.
This does not apply to commercial drivers.
• Probationary License — Issued in conjunction with a driver improvement activity
that grants full driving privileges during a period of suspension for drivers age 21
and over. The license may only be issued to a person suspended for three moving
violations in a 12-month period and cannot be issued for more than three months.
• Family Financial Responsibility Driving Permit (FRP) — Issued following a circuit judge’s order or upon direction from the Department of Healthcare and Family
Services to a driver who has been suspended under the Family Financial
Responsibility Law for nonpayment of child support or upon receipt of a court order
to a driver that has been suspended for child visitation abuse.

Your Driving Record
The Secretary of State keeps records of the traffic violations and crashes you accumulate while a resident of Illinois. If you are convicted of a traffic violation while driving
in another state, the offense will be included on your record as though it happened in
Illinois. If you are not a resident of Illinois and are convicted of an immediate action
traffic violation in Illinois, a record will be established for you in Illinois and the traffic
violation also will be forwarded to your home state.
You may purchase a copy of your driving record at select Driver Services facilities. To
locate a facility near you, visit www.cyberdriveillinois.com and click Facility Finder,
enter your ZIP code and select Misc., Driving Record (Abstract). Driving abstracts may
not be purchased online. Driving abstracts also may be obtained by submitting a written request to: Secretary of State, Abstract Unit, 2701 S. Dirksen Pkwy., Springfield,
IL 62723. The request must include your full name, date of birth and driver’s license
number, along with the appropriate fee. The person requesting their driving record
must provide proper identification.

Chapter 8 Study Questions
1. An individual’s driving privileges may be suspended under which of the following conditions?
a. Three reckless driving offenses in 12 months
b. Drag or street racing
c. Illegally transporting alcohol twice in 12 months by a person over age 21
2. Driving privileges may be revoked for giving false information to the Secretary
of State.
o True
o False
55

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 56

Chapter 9: Roadway Signs
Along the roadway there are regulatory, warning and guide signs. You will be asked
to identify roadway signs on the written driver’s license exam.

Shapes of Signs
These are the basic shapes of signs, each with a special purpose. Other shapes may
be used for special purposes. For example, various shields may be used as route markers, while two crossed panels may be found at railroad crossings.
This eight-sided red sign means STOP. You must make a complete
stop at the stop line. If there is no stop line, stop before entering
the crosswalk. If there is no crosswalk, stop before entering the
intersection. Yield the right-of-way to pedestrians and approaching traffic. If it is an all-way STOP sign, wait your turn. If the STOP
sign is hand-held, stop until an authorized person, such as a
school guard or construction zone flagger, signals that it is safe to
proceed.
This three-sided sign means YIELD the right-of-way. You must let
all traffic and pedestrians near you go before you proceed. YIELD
signs are red and white.

This round sign means RAILROAD CROSSING ahead. RAILROAD
CROSSING signs are yellow with a black crossbuck “X” and the
letters “RR”. It is an advance warning sign that means a railroad
track will cross the roadway ahead. In rural areas the sign may be
up to 750 feet in advance of the railroad crossing. Slow down,
look and stop if necessary. Roll your vehicle windows down and
listen to make certain other noises do not block out the sound of
a train. If a train is approaching, stop and wait. Do not try to race
the train to the crossing.
This diamond-shaped sign means WARNING. It may be yellow,
yellow-green or orange with black wording or symbols. This sign
warns you about hazards or possible hazards on or near the roadway. Slow down and use caution when you see these signs.

56

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 57

This five-sided sign is shaped like an old school house. It is yellow or yellow-green with black symbols. It means either
SCHOOL ZONE or SCHOOL CROSSING. If the sign shows two
children walking, a school is near. If the sign shows two children
walking with a downward pointing arrow, you are at a school
crossing.
This three-sided sign is shaped like a pennant. It is yellow with
black wording. The sign will appear on the left side of a two-lane,
two-way roadway. It is posted at the beginning of a NO-PASSING
ZONE where “no-passing” pavement markings are also used.
Squares and/or rectangles can be used either as regulatory or as
guide signs.

Colors of Signs
The color on a sign has a special meaning. It is important that
you memorize the meanings of the colors.
RED signs are regulatory signs and must be obeyed. They
include STOP, YIELD, DO NOT ENTER or WRONG WAY.
Some BLACK and WHITE signs are regulatory signs and must be
obeyed. Others are used as route markers and are illustrated in
the Guide Signs section on page 68.
YELLOW is used for warning signs. These signs tell you of road
conditions and dangers ahead.
ORANGE also is used for warning signs. These signs alert you to
possible dangers ahead due to construction and maintenance
projects.
GREEN is used for guide signs. These signs tell you where you
are, which way to go and the distance.
BLUE also is used for guide signs. These signs tell you about
services along the roadway.
57

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 58

BROWN is used for parks and recreation signs.
YELLOW-GREEN also is used for warning signs. These signs
alert you to pedestrian crossings and school zones.
PINK is used for traffic incident signing. These signs alert you to
possible dangers ahead due to unplanned traffic incidents such
as traffic crashes and natural disasters.

Regulatory Signs
Regulatory signs tell you what to do and must be obeyed.

STOP

STOP
YIELD

Stop
An eight-sided (octagon) sign tells you to always make a full
stop. You must make a complete stop at the stop line. If there is
no stop line, stop before entering the crosswalk. If there is no
crosswalk, stop before entering the intersection. Yield the rightof-way to pedestrians and closely approaching traffic. If it is an
all-way STOP sign, wait your turn.
All-Way Stop
This sign means there are four STOP signs at the intersection.
Traffic from all directions must stop. The first driver to stop is the
first driver to go. Other drivers must wait their turn. You also may
see 3-WAY, 5-WAY or ALL-WAY signs.

Yield
The three-sided (triangle) sign tells you to give the right-of-way
to all vehicles and pedestrians near you. Slow down to a safe
speed and stop if necessary. When stopping, do so at a marked
crosswalk or before entering the intersection. You also may see
YIELD signs on expressway ramps. These signs are posted when
there is no extra lane where drivers may speed up to merge with
expressway traffic.
Do Not Enter
This sign is posted on one-way streets and other roadways you
are not allowed to enter. You also will see this sign if you try to
enter an expressway ramp in the wrong direction.
58

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 59

Speed Zone Ahead
The larger sign tells you there is a speed zone ahead. The smaller sign tells what the speed limit will be.

SPEED
LIMIT

65

SPEED
LIMIT

70
WRONG
WAY

Speed Limit
Some signs show maximum and minimum speed limits for all
types of vehicles on freeways and limited access highways. In
construction and maintenance zones, posted speeds legally
reduce the speed limit on that portion of the highway. Driving
slower than the minimum speed limit is illegal, unless necessary for safety.
Wrong Way
This sign tells you that your vehicle is moving in the wrong direction.
You will see this sign on expressway ramps a short distance past
the DO NOT ENTER sign. You also will see this sign if you turn the
wrong way into a one-way street, alley or driveway.
No (Not Allowed)
Signs having a red circle with a red slash from the upper-left to
the lower-right mean no. The picture within the circle shows
what is not allowed.

No U-Turn
These signs are posted on divided highways or expressways.
You may see one where there is an opening in the divided highway that leads to the other side. These openings are for authorized vehicles only such as police cars, ambulances, snow plows,
construction/maintenance equipment and other emergency
vehicles. You may not use this opening.
No Right Turn
These signs indicate that right turns are not allowed.

59

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 60

One-Way
These signs are used on one-way streets or driveways. You must
always go only in the direction of the arrow.

ONLY

Two-Way Left Turn Lanes
Either of two signs can be used to indicate
a two-way left turn lane in the center of a
highway. Along with a sign, the two-way
left turn lane is marked with yellow lines
and white arrows.

No Turn on Red
This sign is used at some intersections. It tells you that a right
turn on a red light or a left turn on a red light at intersecting oneway streets is prohibited. It may also show a red circle instead
of the word red.

Approaching a Divided Highway
This sign is used on approaches to a divided highway. It tells you
that a median separates both directions of traffic on the road
you are going to turn onto or cross.
Keep Right
This sign tells you where to drive when you approach traffic
islands, medians or other obstructions in the middle of the roadway. You must drive to the side indicated by the arrow.

Slower Traffic Keep Right
This sign is posted for those driving slower than the normal
speed of traffic on some multilane highways. It tells the slow
driver to drive in the right lane.
60

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 61

STOP
HERE

Stop Here on Red
This sign is used when it is not clear where vehicles must stop at
an intersection with traffic signals.

ON

RED

DO
NOT
PASS

Do Not Pass
This sign tells you that you may not pass other vehicles. It is posted on some two-lane roads where traffic goes in both directions.
There will also be yellow “no passing” lines on the road.

Pass with Care
This sign tells you that you are at the end of the no-passing zone.
You may pass now only when it is safe.

ROAD
CLOSED

Road Closed
This sign is used when the road is closed to all traffic. You may
not continue on the road.

Warning Signs
Warning signs alert you to conditions ahead. These signs are
usually diamond-shaped and warn you about road hazards, construction sites, schools or other situations that require your special attention. While most warning signs are yellow, some
Illinois communities may have fluorescent yellow-green pedestrian and school signs. Construction and maintenance warning
signs are orange.

Pedestrian Crosswalk
This sign tells you there is a crosswalk. However, it may not be at
an intersection so you must watch both sides of the street for
pedestrians.
61

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 62

Other Special Crossings
These signs alert drivers in advance of special areas where vehicles and pedestrians
may be crossing.

School Signs
These signs warn you of school areas and crossings. Stay alert and watch for children. Adult school
crossing guards, auxiliary police or police officers
often supervise these street crossings when students are going to and from school. School safety
patrol members may assist the crossing guards.
Slow down and stop when necessary.
The first two signs warn of school crossings ahead
or of school buildings or grounds next to the roadway. The last two signs are posted at school crosswalks.

SCHOOL
SPEED
LIMIT
SCHOOL
SPEED
LIMIT
ON SCHOOL DAYS

20

WHEN CHILDREN
ARE PRESENT

20

WHEN
FLASHING

These two signs are used in areas where a reducedspeed school zone has been established. The posted speed applies only on school days when children
are present (usual school hours are 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.,
but hours may vary), where a potential hazard exists
because of the children’s close proximity to traffic,
or when a light is flashing.
The use of wireless/cellphones is prohibited while
driving in a posted school speed zone.
Note: Some Illinois communities may have fluorescent yellow-green signs.

62

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 63

Stop Ahead/Yield Ahead/Signal Ahead
These signs warn of traffic controls ahead. Although the traffic signal may not yet be
visible, the traffic signs are close enough to require you to start slowing down.
Advance warning signs also are used in high-speed areas because of the longer distance needed to slow down or stop.

Stop Ahead

Yield Ahead

Signal Ahead

Intersections Ahead
Four signs warn you of intersections ahead where traffic may exist or where a right or
left turn may be required. A sign naming the intersecting road also may be posted.

Crossroad

Side Road

“T” Intersection

“Y” Intersection

Turns and Curves
Certain signs are posted before turns and curves. The shape of the arrow tells you
what to expect. A small sign showing the maximum safe speed also may be posted
below the arrow.

Right and Left Turns
Coming

Road Curves to the
Right and Left

Road Curves to the
Right

40

M.P.H.
Winding Road Ahead

Maximum Safe Speed on
Curve or Turn

63

Right Turn Ahead

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 64

Exit Ramp
Posted at freeway exit ramps, this sign shows the maximum safe
speed a vehicle can be driven on the ramp.

Slippery Pavement
All roads are slippery and dangerous when wet. This sign warns
of conditions that can cause you to lose control of your car. You
should slow down because it takes longer to stop on slippery
pavement.
Downgrade
This sign warns you of a dangerous hill. It may be very long or
steep, or it may have sharp curves. Slow down before you start
down the hill.

Narrow Bridge
This sign warns you that a bridge has a narrow roadway. The
bridge width is 2 feet less than the width of the approach pavement.

Reduction in Lanes
These signs are used on multi-lane highways to warn you of a
reduction in the number of traffic lanes in the direction you are
traveling. Be prepared to change lanes or to allow other vehicles
to merge into your lane. Drivers of all vehicles may need to
adjust their speed and position to avoid a collision with another
vehicle.

Road Narrows
This sign warns drivers that a two-lane road suddenly narrows.

64

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 65

No Passing
This sign is used on two-lane, two-way roads. It warns you not to
pass. The sign is posted on the left side of the road at the beginning of a no passing zone.
Merging Lanes
This sign tells you that two lanes of traffic going the same direction will soon merge into one lane. Be ready to either change
lanes or allow other traffic to merge into your lane. Merge signs
appear on expressways just before expressway ramps. The driver
on the expressway slows down to let the driver on the ramp
merge.
Change in Direction
This sign warns you of a change in direction or narrowing of the
road. You may find several of these signs on the outside of a
sharp curve or on approaches to a narrow bridge.
Divided Highway
Divided highways have a center strip that separates traffic going
in opposite directions. The first sign is posted before a divided
highway begins.

The second sign is posted just before the divided highway ends.
Be careful as you near the end of a divided highway. Two-way
traffic will begin again.

Two-Way Roadway
This sign tells you that you are leaving a divided roadway and will
be driving on a two-way highway.

65

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 66

Construction and Maintenance Signs
Every year in Illinois, construction-zone traffic crashes account for thousands of
injuries and many fatalities to motorists and construction workers. About 90 percent
of construction-zone fatalities are motorists. Orange signs alert you to construction
and maintenance areas ahead. Use extreme caution when entering areas where
workers and slow-moving vehicles are present.
Motorists must obey the posted construction-zone speed limit 24 hours a day, seven
days a week, regardless of the presence of workers. Standard speed limits may be
reduced due to the presence of workers or because normal driving conditions do not
exist in a construction zone. There may be narrow lanes, drop-offs between lanes or
at the edge of pavement, lane closures, or construction equipment or obstructions
near open lanes of traffic. The speed limit may be further reduced when workers are
present. The use of wireless/cellphones (unless using a hands-free device), is prohibited while driving in a construction or maintenance speed zone.

Workers Ahead
These signs are posted far enough ahead to give you time to adjust your speed for any
unusual conditions. When you see these signs, workers may be working close to your traffic lane. Follow the signs and adjust your speed to the posted construction-zone speed
limit, stay alert and keep a safe distance between your vehicle and all traffic barriers.

ROAD
CONSTRUCTION

Warning Cones, Drums
and Barricades
These devices are used to protect you from dangerous locations by marking a path for you to follow in
construction and maintenance areas. Drive slow, be
alert for dangers and be prepared to stop. The use of
barricades, drums and other traffic control devices
also are used to warn motorists of an existing hazard.
Barricades and vertical panels with sloping stripes
warn the motorist to stay to the down-sloping side.
The examples shown are sloped downward to the
left telling the motorist to stay left of the vertical
panel or barricade.
66

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 67

Warning Lights and Arrow Boards
Warning lights help draw your attention to drums and barricades at
night. Arrow boards warn the motorist of an upcoming lane closure,
or caution when construction is ahead and the direction to merge or
move.
Flagger
This sign warns that there is a flagger ahead. Always follow
his/her directions.
A driver should use caution when approaching a flagger. The
flagger will be working very close to your traffic lane. Slow down
and be prepared to obey the signals of the flagger. You must stop
if signaled to do so. Be alert and
remain stopped until signaled to
proceed.
A driver may encounter automated
flagger assistance devices in construction zones. A flagger will be
operating the device from nearby.
The automated flagger must be
obeyed the same as a live flagger.

Photo Speed Enforcement
Photo speed enforcement vans may operate in construction zones when workers are present. Signs indicating that speeds are photo enforced will be clearly posted in the area
where the vans are in use. In addition, the vans have a speed indicator sign that is triggered by a separate radar to communicate your vehicle’s speed to you. This gives
motorists one last opportunity to slow down. If you do not slow down to the constructionzone speed, the camera radar is triggered and a photo is taken of the driver, vehicle and
license plate. The time of day and speed are also
captured.
Tickets from photo speed enforcement are
mailed by certified mail to the registered owner
of the vehicle within 14 days. The registered
owner is required to appear in court, and construction-zone fines apply.

67

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 68

Other Special Signs
Slow-Moving Vehicle
A vehicle displaying this sign is moving slowly. Drivers must slow
down and may pass only when safe and legal to do so.
Parking for Persons with Disabilities
Parking spaces with this sign are reserved for vehicles displaying
Persons with Disabilities plates and parking placards and Disabled
Veteran plates.

RESERVED
PARKING

$100 FINE

Guide Signs

Guide signs tell you where you are, what road you are on and how to get where you
want to go. Most guide signs are rectangular; however, guide signs for county roads
and route markers on freeways are different in shape. The type of information given
determines the color of the sign.

Route Markers
These signs are used alone or with smaller signs. They direct you to the road you wish
to take. Different routes have different markings. Examples of these types of signs
include:

NORTH

47

TO

NORTH

40

ILLINOIS

47





JCT

54

ILLINOIS



57
ILLINOIS

68

ILLINOIS

47

EXIT

44
MILE

4
4

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 69

Chapter 9 Study Questions
1. A merge sign means drivers should be prepared to change lanes or allow other
traffic to come into their lane.
o True
o False
2. When approaching a stop sign that is not marked by a crosswalk, drivers should
stop their vehicles before entering the intersection.
o True
o False
3. An orange sign means drivers should be alert, adjust their speed and be prepared to stop if necessary.
o True
o False

69

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 70

Chapter 10: Traffic Signals and
Pavement Markings
Traffic signals and pavement markings must be obeyed unless a police or traffic control
officer directs otherwise. A driver may never leave the roadway to avoid a traffic signal.

Traffic Signals
Traffic lights at intersections usually have three colors — red, yellow and green — from
top to bottom or from left to right. At some intersections, however, there may be a single
red or yellow light. Some traffic lights are steady, some flash and some are arrows. When
traffic control signals are not working, you must always treat the intersection as an all-way
stop, by coming to a complete stop, unless directed otherwise by law enforcement. You
must then look and yield the right-of-way before entering an intersection.

Steady Lights
Red light — Stop at the marked stop line. If there is not a marked stop line,
stop before entering the crosswalk. If there is no crosswalk, stop before
entering the intersection. Do not go until the light is green and the intersection is clear. You may make a right turn at a red light. You also may make
a left turn at a red light when turning from a one-way street onto another
one-way street that has traffic moving to the left. In both instances, drivers
must come to a complete stop and yield the right-of-way to oncoming traffic and pedestrians before turning.
Yellow light — The yellow light warns that the signal is changing from
green to red. When the red light appears, you may not enter the intersection.
Green light — You may go after yielding the right-of-way to any pedestrians and vehicles in the intersection or crosswalk.

Flashing Lights
Flashing red — Stop, yield the right-of-way to traffic within the intersection
or crosswalk and proceed when safe. This sign is used at intersections when
a stop sign alone is hard to see or where additional emphasis on the stop sign
is needed. They also are used at railroad crossings to warn of approaching
trains. Stop. Never try to beat a train to a crossing.
Flashing yellow — Proceed with caution. This sign is used where caution
is required.
70

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 71

Arrows
After yielding the right-of-way to traffic within the intersection or crosswalk, you may go in the direction the arrow is pointing.
Red arrow (constantly lit) — The constantly lit red arrow means do not
make the movement shown by the arrow until a green arrow appears.
There are two exceptions. You may make a right turn at a red arrow. You
also may make a left turn at a red arrow when turning from a one-way
street onto another one-way street that has traffic moving to the left. In
both instances, drivers must come to a complete stop and yield the rightof-way to oncoming traffic and pedestrians before proceeding.
Yellow arrow (constantly lit) — The constantly lit yellow arrow means the
green arrow is ending or that the light is about to turn red.
Yellow arrow (flashing) — The flashing yellow arrow means you may turn
in the direction the arrow is pointed after yielding the right-of-way to any
pedestrians and vehicles in the intersection or crosswalk.
Green arrow — When the arrow is pointed upward you may go straight
ahead only. When the arrow is pointed to the right you may turn to the
right. When the arrow is pointed to the left you may turn to the left.

x
x

Lane Signals
Special lights sometimes are used over each lane on highways and
expressways. They are used most often to change the flow of traffic during
certain hours of the day.
Red “X” — Never drive in this lane.
Yellow “X” — This lane signal is going to change to red. Leave this lane
safely before the red “X” appears.
Flashing yellow “arrow” — This lane may be used for approaching and
making a left turn.
Green arrow — Lanes may be used, but all other signs and signals must
be obeyed.

Pavement Markings
Edge Lines
Solid lines along the side of the road that tell you where the edge of the pavement is.
• Solid white lines are used on the right of the roadway edge.
• Solid yellow lines are used on the left edge of divided streets or roadways.

71

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 72

White Lane Lines
• White lane lines separate lanes of traffic moving in the same direction.
• Broken white lines separate lanes of traffic moving in the same direction. Crossing
the line is allowed only when changing lanes or turning.
• Solid white lines separate lanes of traffic moving in the same direction. Crossing a
solid white line requires special care and is discouraged.
• Solid double white lines separate lanes of traffic moving in the same direction.
Crossing a double solid white line is prohibited.

Yellow Center Lines
• Yellow center lines separate lanes of traffic moving in opposite directions.
• Broken yellow lines separate single lanes of traffic moving in opposite directions.
Passing is allowed.
• Solid double yellow lines are used where traffic is moving in opposite directions.
Two solid lines mark the center of the roadway. Solid yellow lines may be crossed
to make a left turn to or from an alley, private road, driveway or street.

Yellow No Passing Lines
No Passing lines are solid yellow lines on roads where traffic moves in opposite directions. The lines indicate zones where passing is not allowed.

72

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 73

When the solid yellow line is on your side of the center line, you may cross it to finish passing a vehicle you started to pass before the beginning of the no passing zone. You may
cross it to make a left turn into or from an alley, private road or driveway. When there is a
solid and a broken yellow line separating two lanes of traffic moving in opposite directions, you may pass only when the broken yellow line is nearest your lane.

Two-Way Left Turn Lanes
Two-way left turn lanes are marked with yellow lines and white arrows. A left turn
may not be made from any other lane when a turn lane is provided. A vehicle may not
be driven in the lane except when preparing for or making a left turn from or into the
roadway or when preparing for or making a U-turn when permitted by law.

White Stop Line
A white stop line is painted across a lane at an intersection. The line is usually four
feet before the crosswalk in an urban area. It shows where you must stop for a stop
sign or red light. You must stop your vehicle before any part of it crosses the line.
White Crosswalk Lines
White crosswalk lines are painted across the entire width of the pavement. Sometimes
the inside area is marked with white diagonal lines for added visibility. Pedestrians in
crosswalks have the right-of-way over vehicles. Crosswalks are sometimes in the middle
of the block and, in this case, a pedestrian crossing sign is located at the white lines.
Other Markings
• Yellow or white diagonal stripes are used to mark fixed obstructions.
• Solid white or yellow lines are sometimes used to channel traffic around a hazard.
• Curb markings, fire lanes and pavement markings may be designated as “No
Parking” areas by local authorities.

Railroad Crossings
When approaching a railroad crossing you must stop within 15-50 feet if there is a
posted stop sign, the electric signal is flashing or the crossing gate is lowered. You
also must stop if a flagger issues a signal to stop or a train is approaching and/or
gives a warning. If a railroad grade crossing has no warning devices or only a crossbuck sign, slow down and look and listen for a train before proceeding. You must yield
the right-of-way to any approaching train or railroad equipment.
73

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 74

A driver may not enter a highway railroad crossing unless there is sufficient space on
the other side of the crossing to accommodate the vehicle without obstructing passage of a train or other railroad equipment using the rails.
Vehicles required by law to stop at most all railroad crossings are second division
vehicles carrying people for hire, school buses and vehicles carrying hazardous materials and identified by a sign required by federal or state government. The driver of
these vehicles must look and listen in both directions. To avoid stalling, a driver should
not change gears while crossing the track.
Railroad crossings are marked with one or more of the following special warning devices:
• Round Advance Warning Sign — A yellow sign with a black “X” and the letters
“RR” means a highway-railway crossing is ahead. The sign may be placed up to 750
feet in advance of the railroad crossing.
• Pavement Markings — A solid yellow line in advance of the crossing means no
passing. White stop lines on each side of the track show motorists where to stop
when a train is approaching. These markings also indicate a highway railway crossing is ahead.
• Railroad Crossbuck Sign — If a railroad crossing has more than one track, the
number of tracks is on the sign below the crossbuck. This is a yield sign and drivers
must yield the right-of-way to any oncoming trains and railroad equipment.
• Flashing Light Signals — When lights begin to flash, you must always stop until
the train has passed and the lights have stopped flashing.
• Gates — Remain stopped until the lowered gates are raised and lights are no
longer flashing. Do not attempt to beat crossing gates as they are lowering or to go
around lowered gates.
Following are important laws and safety tips when approaching a railroad crossing:
• Drive as though you expect a train on any track at any time.
• Once a train has passed, always look for a second train on another track before proceeding.
• Check carefully to make sure there is enough room for your vehicle on the other side
of the railroad track. If there is not enough room, do not cross the tracks.
• If your vehicle has a manual transmission, shift down before reaching the tracks. To
avoid stalling, you should not change gears while crossing the track.
G
S
S
O
R
C

R
C

A
O

A
O

D

D

74

R

R

O

S

S

IL

IL

IN

G

A

A

IN

R

R

3
TRACKS

3
TRACKS

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 75

• Never race a train. It may cost you your life and those of your passengers.
• Be prepared to stop when you are behind vehicles required to stop at railroad crossings (see page 74).
Tracks equipped with an automated railroad crossing enforcement system may record an
image of the vehicle and license plate, time, date and location of any violation. Drivers are
subject to fines and possible suspension of their driving privileges for violations.

Chapter 10 Study Questions
1. What should a driver do when approaching a traffic control signal that is not in
operation?
a. Come to a full stop and yield the right-of-way before entering the intersection.
b. If the intersection is clear, the driver does not need to stop.
c. Drive quickly through the intersection to get out of the way of other vehicles.
2. If a traffic light shows both a red light and a green arrow, a driver may not turn
in the direction of the arrow until the red light has changed.
o True
o False
3. Drivers may pass on a two-lane roadway marked with a single solid yellow line
on their side of the center line.
o True
o False
4. A railroad crossbuck sign should be treated the same as a yield sign.
o True
o False
5. All vehicles are required to stop within how many feet of the nearest rail of a
railroad crossing when a train is approaching?
a. between 15 and 50 feet
b. between 5 and 10 feet
c. 10 feet
6. When approaching a railroad crossing that has no warning signals (such as electric flashing lights or gates), a driver should look, listen and slow down.
o True
o False
7. After a train clears a crossing that has flashing signals, drivers may proceed
after checking for a second train on another track and the lights have stopped
flashing.
o True
o False
8. If moving with a stream of vehicles across a railroad track, it is safe to stop on
the track for a short period of time.
o True
o False

75

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 76

Chapter 11: Safe Driving Tips
Driving is a privilege and a responsibility. A driver must obey all traffic laws and be
prepared to react to other drivers and driving conditions.

Drive Defensively
Always be prepared to react to another driver. Do not expect the other driver to do
what you think he/she should do. Do not assume you know what he/she is going to
do. If you cannot avoid a crash, remain calm and try to choose the least dangerous situation. For example, driving into a ditch is less dangerous than a head-on collision.

Following Distances
Following a vehicle too closely or tailgating is the cause of most rear-end collisions.
Use the three-second rule to determine a safe following distance. Select a fixed
object on the road ahead such as a sign, tree or overpass. When the vehicle ahead of
you passes the object, count “one-thousand-one, one-thousand-two, etc.” You should
not reach the object before you count to one-thousand-three. If you do, you are following too closely.
The three-second rule also applies to your speed when you are on a good road and
during good weather conditions. If the road and/or weather conditions are not good,
increase your following distance even more. If you are being tailgated, move to another lane or slowly pull off the road and allow the vehicle to pass.
3 Seconds

Vehicle Speed

Approximate Feet Vehicle
Will Travel in 1 Second

3-Second Rule Distance

25 mph
35 mph
45 mph
55 mph
65 mph
70 mph

37 feet
52 feet
66 feet
81 feet
96 feet
103 feet

111 feet back
156 feet back
198 feet back
243 feet back
288 feet back
309 feet back

76

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 77

Vehicle Speed
Driving too fast or too slowly can create a dangerous situation. Regardless of the posted speed limit, weather and traffic conditions may make it necessary to drive more
slowly. Your speed should be adjusted for the conditions and match the flow of traffic,
as long as it does not surpass the maximum posted speed. Doubling your speed
quadruples your stopping distance. Consider the following when deciding your speed:
• How quickly you can react physically and mentally.
• Type and condition of the roadway.
• Size of tires — large, wide tires with good tread will stop a vehicle faster than
small, narrow tires with little tread.
• Condition of brakes — newer brakes stop a vehicle more quickly than older, worn
brakes.
• Direction of the wind and how fast is it blowing — a strong tail wind can make it
very difficult to stop.
• Type of vehicle — vehicle design, weight distribution, suspension and shock
absorbers all play a role in how quickly a vehicle can stop.

Drowsy Driving
Lack of sleep, fatigue or inattentiveness affects your ability to safely operate your
vehicle. Make sure you are properly rested. When taking a long trip, avoid drowsiness
by stopping frequently. Exercise your eyes by reading road signs or shifting the focus
of your eyes to different parts of the roadway.

Weather Conditions
Weather can create a driving hazard. Special care must be taken in fog, rain, high
winds and winter driving conditions.

Fog
While it is not advisable, if you must drive in fog, take the following precautions:
• Turn off the cruise control if in use and increase your following distance.
• Slow down. If you see headlights or taillights, slow down even more. A driver may
be driving in the center of the roadway or may be stopped or barely moving.
• Drive with your headlights set on dim, or use fog lights.
• Do not overdrive your headlights. Stay within the limits of your vision. You may have
to stop suddenly. If the fog is too dense, pull off the roadway and stop. Do not drive
at 5-10 mph.
• Use your turn signal long before you turn, and brake early when you approach a stop
to warn other drivers.

77

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 78

Rain
Illinois law requires you to turn on your headlights when operating your windshield
wipers. When rain begins to fall lightly, water, dust, oil and leaves cause the roadway
to become slippery. Take the following precautions when driving in rain:
• Turn off the cruise control if in use and increase your following distance.
• Take special care on curves and turns and while braking.
• Avoid hydroplaning by slowing down. If you skid while hydroplaning, try to regain
control of the vehicle. Otherwise, release the accelerator and ride out the skid.
If you come across a roadway or viaduct that has been flooded due to heavy rain, do
not drive through the flooded area. It is impossible to determine the depth or current
of the water until it’s too late. Turn your vehicle around and find another route.

High Winds
Wind can be a difficult problem, especially for drivers of trucks, recreational vehicles,
campers and trailers-in-tow. Take the following precautions:
• Reduce your speed and make steering corrections when you go from a protected
area to an open area and when meeting large vehicles such as trucks and buses.
• Heavy rain or sleet often accompanies high winds. Be alert to wet or slippery areas
and plan for those conditions.
• The Illinois Tollway System bans the hauling of house trailers in high winds.
Winter Driving
Winter is the most difficult driving season due to many reasons, including ice, snow,
lower temperatures and fewer daylight hours.
• Drive slower and increase your following distance. Roadway conditions may vary
depending upon the sun, shade or roadway surface.
• Do not use the cruise control if the pavement is wet, icy or snowy.
• Remove all snow and ice from your vehicle. Clear all windows, and do not start driving until your windshield is defrosted and clear. Be sure you have nonfreezing windshield washer liquid and that your headlights and taillights are visible.
• Be sure your vehicle is maintained properly. Lights, brakes, windshield wipers,
defrosters, radiator and other parts should be in good working order.
• Use snow tires and/or chains (where allowed). Snow tires give you extra traction,
and chains increase safety on snow or ice packed roads. Neither snow tires nor
chains allow you to drive on bad roads at normal speeds.
• Gentle braking in slow, steady strokes helps you find out how much traction you
have. Begin braking early when you come to an intersection or a stop.
• Approach bridges, shaded spots, overpasses and turns slowly. They may remain icy
after the rest of the roadway is clear and dry.

78

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 79

• Plan ahead for winter driving. Carry a blanket, food and other survival equipment,
such as a shovel, in your vehicle in case you become stranded. If you become
stranded, remain in your vehicle. Run your engine only for brief times, and open
your window to prevent carbon monoxide poisoning. Make sure your vehicle
tailpipe is free of snow and debris.

Special Driving Situations and Hazards
Expressway Driving
Expressways, toll roads, turnpikes and freeways are fast, multiple-lane roads with
maximum speed limits of 55, 65 or 70 mph. Be especially alert when driving on
expressways — speed and traffic volume are major concerns. Following are tips for
safe driving on expressways:

• When entering an expressway, you will usually find a speed-change lane. This lane
allows you to gain the speed necessary before merging. Signal and look for an
opening in the traffic, match traffic speed and merge with traffic when safe.
• Check your rearview and side mirrors before changing lanes.
• Use your turn signals when making lane changes.
• Do not follow too closely. Allow plenty of distance between you and the car ahead.
• The right lane is for slower traffic. The left lane is for faster traffic and for passing.
• Do not stop on the expressway. Pull off the road if you have a problem. Lift your
vehicle’s hood and turn on your hazard flashers. Do not walk along the expressway.
• Freeway exits may be on the right or left. Be sure to be in the correct exit and
speed-change lanes. Signal your intent then slow down to make your exit in the
speed-change lane.
• Go to the next exit if you missed yours. Backing up on expressways is against the
law.

79

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 80

Night Driving
Night driving is difficult because things may appear differently than in daylight. Also,
glare from lights may interfere with vision. Courtesy and common sense should be
used when driving at night.
• Never overdrive your headlights. Always keep them clean and aimed properly. Use
them at dusk and dawn. Bright lights must be dimmed 500 feet before meeting an
oncoming vehicle or 300 feet before passing a vehicle.
• If streetlights cause a lot of glare, dim your dashboard lights and use your sun visor.
Avoid using any other light inside your vehicle.
• Roadway signs are more difficult to see at night.
• Use edge lines and center lines of the roadway as guides.
• Do not stop on the roadway. If you must stop, carry and use a red warning light.
Rural Intersections
Depending on the time of the year, it may be difficult to see other drivers. Some rural
intersections may be marked with warning signs (stop, yield, etc.), while others may
not. When approaching any rural intersection, slow down and look both ways before
entering the intersection. Be safe and enter all rural intersections with caution.
Curves
Slow down before entering the curve. Do not brake suddenly as this may cause skidding or locked wheels. Never drive over the center line.
Head-on Approaches
When a vehicle is approaching head-on in your lane, slow down immediately. Pull over
to the right and sound your horn.
Skidding
Skidding occurs when tires lose traction. If you skid, ease off the gas pedal or brakes.
Steer into the direction of the skid until you feel you have regained traction and then
straighten your vehicle.

80

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 81

Driving off the Pavement
If your wheels drift off the pavement onto the shoulder, grip the wheel firmly, ease
your foot off the gas pedal and brake gently. After checking for traffic behind you, gently steer back onto the pavement. Do not jerk your wheel to correct your steering. This
may cause you to drive into oncoming traffic.
Fire
If smoke appears, pull off the road. Turn off the engine, move away from the vehicle
and call the fire department. Vehicle fires can be very dangerous. Do not fight the fire
yourself.
Water Crashes
If your vehicle runs off the roadway into water but does not sink right away, try to
escape through a window. Because of differences in water pressure, you may not be
able to open your car door. If your vehicle does sink, move to the back seat area where
an air pocket usually forms. Take a deep breath and exit from a rear window.
Carbon Monoxide Poisoning
Carbon monoxide is a deadly poison. Symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning are
weariness, yawning, dizziness, nausea, headache and ringing in the ears. You can prevent carbon monoxide poisoning by having the exhaust system checked regularly. Also,
leave the window partially open when starting the engine, while driving the vehicle or
when running the engine while parked. Never run the engine in your garage.
Electricity
If you are in a crash that results in power lines falling on your vehicle, the danger of
electrical shock exists. You should remain in your vehicle until help arrives. However,
if fire is an immediate danger, you must jump clear of the vehicle. Do not allow any
part of your body to touch the vehicle and the ground at the same time.
Explosive Fire Hazard
Always shut off your vehicle’s engine when refueling. Never smoke around gas
pumps. For safety purposes, remain with the pump while refueling and avoid returning
to the vehicle during the pumping process.

Equipment Failure
Crashes often happen when equipment fails. Equipment failures may include:
• Blowouts — A thumping sound may be a warning of a blowout. If this happens,
ease your foot off the gas pedal and keep a firm grasp on the steering wheel. Do
not brake suddenly. Pull safely off the roadway and check your tires.
81

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 82

• Loss of a wheel — React as you would with a blowout. Ease off the gas pedal and
pull off the roadway.
• Steering failure — If you suddenly have no control of the steering wheel, ease
your foot off the gas pedal. Turn on your emergency flashers and allow your vehicle
to come to a slow stop. Brake very gently to prevent your vehicle from spinning.
• Brake failure — If your brake pedal suddenly sinks to the floor, pump it to build
pressure. If that does not work, use your emergency or parking brake. To slow down,
shift your vehicle into a lower gear.
• Headlight failure — If your headlights fail suddenly, try your emergency flashers,
parking lights and/or turn signals. Pull off the road. If your lights begin to dim, drive
to a service station or pull off the road and seek help.
• Stuck gas pedal — If the gas pedal becomes stuck, hook your toe under it to free
it. If it does not become free, shift your vehicle into neutral and brake gently to slow
down. If you have power steering or a locking steering wheel, do not turn off the
ignition, you will lose either your power steering or your ability to steer.
• Blocked vision — If your vision becomes blocked, roll down the side window to
see. Turn on your emergency flashers and then pull your vehicle off the road.

Avoid Aggressive Driving
Aggressive driving is the operation of a motor vehicle in a manner that endangers or
is likely to endanger persons or property. Persons doing any of the following may be
committing acts of aggressive driving and pose risk of a crash:
• Speeding
• Running red lights and stop signs
• Tailgating
• Passing on the shoulder of the road
• Cutting off another vehicle
• Slamming on brakes in front of a tailgater
• Improper hand or facial gestures at other drivers
• Yelling
• Repeatedly honking the horn
• Repeatedly flashing the headlights
Avoid aggressive drivers and potentially dangerous situations. If you encounter an
angry or aggressive motorist:
• Do not retaliate or in any way engage the other driver. Get out of the way.
• Do not make eye contact.
• Keep your doors locked and your windows up.
• Keep enough space between you and the vehicle in front of you to pull out from
behind.
• Do not underestimate a driver’s potential for aggression.
82

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 83

Being Pulled Over by Law Enforcement
• Slow down and pull over safely as soon as possible. If the police vehicle is
unmarked and you cannot identify the driver as a police officer, drive slowly and
carefully below the speed limit to a well-lighted, populated spot and pull over, or go
to the nearest police station, attempt to attract the attention of a uniformed officer
or call 911.
• Stay in the driver’s seat with both hands clearly in sight on the steering wheel until
the officer instructs you otherwise or the traffic stop is complete. Do not exit your
vehicle unless asked to do so. Getting out of your vehicle can be perceived as aggressive behavior and a threat to the officer’s safety. Turn on your interior light if stopped
at night.
• Comply with the officer’s request to see your driver’s license and proof of insurance.
If these items are in the glove box, under the seat or if your proof of insurance is
stored for display on your cellphone, inform the officer of that fact and then follow
his/her directions before retrieving them.
• If you are issued a ticket requiring a signature, sign it. Signing a ticket is not an
admission of guilt — only an acknowledgment of receiving the ticket.
• If you are suspected of drunk driving, cooperate with the officer(s) on the scene. If
you refuse to submit to breath, blood or performance tests, your refusal could result
in loss of driving privileges.
• Be aware that you may have committed some minor traffic violation without realizing it, there may be some problem with your vehicle of which you are unaware or
you might be driving a vehicle that is similar to one used in a serious crime. Many
officers will not provide specific reasons for the stop until they have your license
and insurance card in hand. Therefore, they will avoid having to debate the reason
for the stop before they receive these items from you.
• If you wish to offer an explanation of your circumstances when stopped, do so
before the officer returns to his vehicle. The officer cannot void the ticket once it
has been written. Cooperate during the incident even if you believe you have not
committed an offense. If you believe you have been treated unfairly, present your
case in traffic court and not to the officer along the roadway.
• You are to be treated with dignity and respect by the officer. If you believe that an
officer has acted inappropriately during a traffic stop or other encounter, you should
report that conduct as soon as possible to the officer’s superiors.
• Officers are required to provide their names and badge numbers upon request.

83

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 84

Chapter 11 Study Questions
1. The road surface of a bridge may be dangerous in winter because it may remain
icy after the rest of the roadway is clear.
o True
o False
2. If driving in fog, a driver should turn on the high-beam headlights to increase the
field of vision.
o True
o False
3. Most rear-end collisions are caused by the vehicle in back following too closely.
o True
o False
4. The three-second rule helps the driver determine a safe following distance.
o True
o False
5. If a vehicle starts to skid on water (hydroplane), the driver should quickly apply
the brakes.
o True
o False
6. If the front right wheel of a vehicle runs off the pavement, a driver should ease
off the accelerator, brake gently and gently steer back onto the pavement.
o True
o False
7. Drivers who become stranded in blizzard conditions should remain in their vehicles.
o True
o False
8. When experiencing a tire blowout, the driver should apply the brakes quickly
and pull off the roadway to check the tire.
o True
o False
9. If a vehicle starts to skid, the driver should ease off the gas pedal or brakes and
steer in the opposite direction of the skid.
o True
o False
10.Illinois law requires that headlights be on when atmospheric conditions require
the use of windshield wipers.
o True
o False
11.After being pulled over by law enforcement, a driver should immediately exit the
vehicle and quickly approach the officer’s squad car.
o True
o False
12.If a driver needs to obtain insurance or vehicle registration information from the
glove box, the driver should inform the police officer before doing so.
o True
o False
84

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 85

Chapter 12: Equipment For Safe Driving
To be a safe driver, your vehicle must be properly equipped and in good working order.
It is illegal to drive a vehicle that may be a hazard to any person or property.

Required Equipment
Your motor vehicle must have the following working equipment:
• Brakes — Vehicles must have two brake systems and brakes on all wheels. The
foot brake must be strong enough to stop a vehicle traveling at a speed of 20 mph
in 30 feet. The emergency or parking brake must be strong enough to stop the vehicle in 55 feet at the same speed. The emergency brake also must be able to hold
the vehicle on a grade or hill. Motor-driven cycles need only one brake.
• Headlights — Vehicles must have two headlights and they must be on from sunset
to sunrise and be used in times when rain, snow, fog or other conditions require the
use of windshield wipers. They also should be used when objects 1,000 feet away
cannot be seen. Bright lights must be dimmed 500 feet before meeting an oncoming
vehicle or 300 feet before passing a vehicle. Motorcycles and mopeds require a
headlight, which must show objects 500 feet ahead, and be on whenever the vehicle is driven.
• Taillights — Vehicles must have two red lights visible for 500 feet from behind.
Only one taillight is needed for mopeds and motorcycles.
• Turn signals — Vehicles, except motorcycles, trailers and semitrailers, must have
right and left turn signals on the front and rear visible from 300 feet.
• Stop lights — Vehicles must have at least one red or amber stop light visible for
500 feet from behind in normal sunlight.
• License plate light — Vehicles must have a white light making the license plate
readable from 50 feet away and must be on when headlights are on.
• Parking lights — Front and rear parking lights are required for any vehicle stopped
on a highway at night. Some local communities may allow unlighted night parking
on streets.
• Safety Belts — Passenger vehicles must have two sets of safety belts in the front seat.
Without these belts, 1965 or later models may not be sold or operated in Illinois.
• Mirrors — One rearview mirror is required so you can see at least 200 feet behind
your car.
• Windows — All window glass must be approved safety glass. The windshield must
be free of snow, ice, moisture and any defects that distort vision. All glass must be
free of obstructions between the driver and front or rear windows. Tinted windows
are not allowed on the front windshield. A six-inch strip of tinting is allowed along the
entire length at the top of the front windshield.
• Wipers — Wipers must operate properly to clear ice, snow and moisture.
• Horn — Vehicles must have a horn that can be heard from 200 feet. Sirens, whis85

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 86

tles and bells are allowed only on authorized emergency vehicles.
• Muffler — A muffler must be on the exhaust system to prevent excessive noise and
smoke. Cutouts, bypasses and changes to the system to increase noise are illegal.
• Bumpers — Vehicles weighing 9,000 pounds or less and all recreational vehicles
must have a front and rear bumper. It is illegal to alter the suspension system of a
vehicle to lift the body from the chassis frame in excess of three inches. Also, the
horizontal line from the front to the rear may not vary over three inches.

Restricted Equipment
• Projecting Loads — Loads extending four feet or more to the rear of a vehicle
must be marked with a red flag during the day. At night or when visibility is poor,
the vehicle must have a red light visible for 500 feet.
• Back-up lights — Vehicles may have one or more backup lights; however, they
may not be on when the vehicle is moving forward.
• Spotlights (only one allowed) — When approaching another vehicle, it must be
directed neither to the left nor more than 100 feet ahead. Your vehicle may not have
more than four 300 candlepower lights burning.
• Flashing or moving lights — Flashing or moving lights other than turn signals or
hazard indicators are prohibited, except for police or emergency vehicles.
• Red lights — Red lights visible from the front are prohibited, except for police or
emergency vehicles.
• Running board lights — Limited to one on each side, which must be non-glare
white or amber lights.
• Cowl or fender lamps — Only two lights are allowed, which must be non-glare,
white or amber lights.
• Studded Tires — Pneumatic tires with metal studs are illegal except for vehicles
used by mail carriers in rural areas between November 15 and April 1; vehicles displaying Persons with Disabilities or Disabled Veteran plates between November 15
and April 1 (owners must live on a county or township road in an unincorporated
area); agricultural tractors or traction engines; agricultural machinery, including
wagons, being used for agricultural towing purposes; or road-building machinery
operated at a speed of less than 10 mph.
• Televisions or Video — Televisions or video recording monitors that can be seen
from the driver’s seat are prohibited while the vehicle is in motion.
• Antique Vehicles — Special rules for lamps, brakes, stop lights and turn signals
apply to vehicles more than 25 years old. For more information, call the Secretary
of State’s office at 800-252-8980.
• Radar Jamming Device — Possession and use of radar jamming devices is prohibited in all vehicles.

86

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 87

Chapter 12 Study Questions
1. Within how many feet is a driver required to dim the headlights before meeting
another vehicle?
a. 250 feet
b. 400 feet
c. 500 feet
2. Headlights must be lighted from sunset to sunrise.
o True
o False
3. Your car must have a horn that can be heard from a distance of 200 feet.
o True
o False

87

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 88

Chapter 13: Owning a Vehicle
Purchasing a Vehicle
Purchasing from a Dealer
There are certain laws a dealer must follow when selling a new or used vehicle. Within
20 days of purchase, a dealer must send the following to the Secretary of State’s office:
• Application for Vehicle Transaction(s).
• Properly signed Certificate of Title or Certificate of Origin.
• Separate payments for title/license plate fees and sales tax on the vehicle. Sales
tax varies depending on the city or county where the vehicle is purchased.
Purchasing from a Private Owner
If you purchase a vehicle from someone other than a dealer, within 20 days of purchase the Secretary of State’s office must receive the following:
• Application for Vehicle Transaction(s).
• Properly signed Certificate of Title in the seller’s name.
• Payment of title/license plate fees.
• Payment of Vehicle Use Tax. If the selling price is less than $15,000, the tax is based
on the model year of the vehicle. If the selling price is $15,000 or more, the tax is
based on the selling price of the vehicle. An RUT-50 tax form must be submitted
along with the correct tax payment to Illinois Department of Revenue.
Purchasing Out of State
If you purchase a vehicle out of state, the following items must be sent to the
Secretary of State’s office to obtain a Certificate of Title and license plates:
• Application for Vehicle Transaction(s).
• Payment of title/license plate fees. The amount is shown on the application.
• Certificate of Origin signed by the dealer if your vehicle is new, or a properly
assigned Certificate of Title if your vehicle is used. For both new and used vehicles,
you also must have a Bill of Sale.
• Recent vehicle registration ID card if you are transferring license plates.
• Payment of sales or Vehicle Use Tax.

Vehicle Registration and Title
When you register your vehicle, you are providing the state with a record of that vehicle. Registration allows you to legally use your vehicle on Illinois roadways. To register your vehicle in Illinois, you must have an Illinois Certificate of Title. This document
shows that you own the vehicle. All vehicles and mobile homes must have a
Certificate of Title whether or not they are registered.
88

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 89

Registration fees must be paid annually. A $20 late fee is assessed on registrations
renewed 30 days or more past the expiration date. Vanity/personalized plates and
some other plate categories carry additional fees in addition to the following fees:
Passenger vehicle and B-truck (8,000 pounds or less) ............................................$101
Motorcycle ..................................................................................................................$41
Replacement plate (1) ..................................................................................................$6
Replacement plates (2) ................................................................................................$9
Replacement sticker ..................................................................................................$20
Fees are subject to legislative change. For up-to-date fee information, visit
www.cyberdriveillinois.com.
When you receive your license plates/sticker, you also will receive a vehicle registration
ID card, which must be carried in your vehicle or with you when you are driving.

License Plate Requirements
• Passenger vehicles, trucks and vans must display two plates, one on the front and
one on the rear.
• When a vehicle is sold, the license plates should be removed and kept by the seller.
In Illinois, license plates remain with the owner, not the vehicle.
• Motorcycles, mopeds, trailers, semitrailers and buses registered under apportionment
provisions must display one license plate on the rear of the vehicle.
• Truck-tractors and apportioned straight trucks must have one license plate on the
front of the vehicle.
License plate frames should not cover any of the information on the license plates.
License plates covers are not allowed.

Temporary Registration Permit
When you apply for registration for your vehicle you may be issued a Temporary
Registration Permit (TRP). This permit must be displayed in the same place and manner as your rear license plate. The TRP is valid for 90 days from the issuance date,
although it may be reissued if the license plates do not arrive within 90 days. Once
your plates are received, the TRP should be removed and replaced with your permanent license plates. For your protection, the permit should be destroyed and discarded
upon removal. TRPs are available through Illinois licensed dealers, licensed remittance agencies, currency exchanges and Secretary of State facilities.

License Plate Renewal
As a courtesy, about 60 days before your vehicle registration expires you will receive
a renewal notice from the Secretary of State’s office. If any vehicle information has
changed, you must submit proof that the registration has been transferred to another
89

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 90

vehicle. You may renew online at www.cyberdriveillinois.com, by mail, by visiting a
Secretary of State facility, or by calling the toll-free number on the renewal notice.
You also may renew at certain banks, savings and loans, currency exchanges, credit
unions and remittance agencies.
You are encouraged to immediately affix your renewal sticker to the upper right side
of the rear license plate. If you do not immediately display the renewal sticker and
your current sticker has expired, law enforcement may stop your vehicle and issue you
a ticket.
Illinois law allows motorists to drive without an up-to-date vehicle renewal sticker
displayed on their license plate provided they have a receipt in their vehicle from the
Secretary of State proving they purchased a sticker online before expiration, but have
not yet received it. The printed receipt is only valid as proof of registration for
30 days from the expiration of the registration sticker currently displayed on
the license plate.

Special License Plates
Personalized and vanity license plates are available for passenger vehicles, second
division vehicles weighing 8,000 pounds or less, motorcycles, vehicles operated by
persons with disabilities, recreational vehicles, recreational trailers and antique vehicles. Please allow at least 45 days from the time you place your order.

Reduced-fee License Plates
Senior citizens and persons with disabilities who qualify for Circuit Breaker tax relief
through the Illinois Department on Aging are eligible for reduced license plate fees for
passenger and recreational vehicles. One discount per year is allowed. For more information, please call the Illinois Department on Aging at 800-624-2459.

Mandatory Insurance
All vehicles operated in Illinois must be covered by liability insurance, which covers
injuries or damages you may cause with your vehicle to other persons or their property.
Vehicle owners are required to provide insurance information at the time of registration
renewal. Once the vehicle owner signs the registration or renewal application, he/she
affirms the vehicle is properly insured. Some vehicle classes are required to carry higher liability coverage under other laws. Following are minimum liability insurance limits:
• $25,000 for injury or death of one person in a crash.
• $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person in a crash.
• $20,000 for damage to property of another person.
Evidence of liability coverage must be carried by the motorist or in the vehicle and
shown to law enforcement officers upon request. Insurance companies must issue
90

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 91

Illinois insurance cards to policyholders or provide an insurance card that can be displayed on the driver’s cellphone or other electronic device. Contact your insurance
agent or company if you lose your insurance card or the company fails to send you one.
Meanwhile, carry in your vehicle some other kind of proof that you have insurance,
such as an insurance binder, the current declarations page of your insurance policy, a
certificate of insurance or the receipt for your last insurance payment.
Enforcement of the law is managed through random computer checks by the Secretary
of State’s office and the issuance of traffic tickets. You also must provide proof of
insurance to the Secretary of State’s office or the remitter when renewing your license
plates. This proof of insurance can be in a paper or electronic format. Failure to carry
the required insurance will result in fines, the inability to renew your license plates,
suspension of your driving privileges and suspension of your vehicle registration until
proof of insurance is obtained. Providing false information to the Secretary of State’s
office or a remitter for the purpose of renewing your vehicle registration may result in
criminal charges and a fine. If you have trouble obtaining insurance, contact the
Illinois Automobile Insurance Plan. The plan is a state-monitored program for drivers
who have difficulty obtaining insurance.

Emissions Testing
In compliance with the Clean Air Act, certain vehicles in various areas of Illinois must
pass an Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) emissions test in order for the
Secretary of State’s office to renew the vehicle’s license plates. The IEPA is required
by law to notify owners of the scheduled test month and year for their vehicle. Vehicle
emissions testing is required in the following counties: all of Cook, DuPage and Lake,
and parts of Kane, Kendall, McHenry, Will, Madison, Monroe and St. Clair. If you move
from the area in which testing is required, you must notify the IEPA. For more information, please call the IEPA: Chicago Metro area, 847-758-3400; East St. Louis Metro
area, 800-635-2380.

License Plates and Parking Placards
for Persons with Disabilities
License Plates
A person with permanent disabilities may obtain Persons with Disabilities License
Plates for vehicles titled in his/her name. An immediate family member residing in the
same household may obtain two sets of plates if the qualifying person with disabilities does not own a vehicle and must rely on someone else for transportation.
Corporations, school districts, limited liability companies, nursing homes, convalescent homes and special education cooperatives transporting eligible persons may
obtain these plates as well. These plates DO NOT exempt the authorized holder from
parking meter fees and time limitations at parking meters.
91

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 92

Parking Placards
Disability parking placards may be used in any vehicle in which the authorized holder
is driving or is a passenger.
• Meter-Exempt Permanent — Issued to persons with permanent disabilities who
have significant impairments that cause difficulty in accessing a parking meter. The
placard allows the authorized holder to park in spaces reserved for persons with
disabilities such as at a mall, grocery or retail store, and exempts the holder from
parking meter fees and time limitations at meters exceeding a 30-minute time limit
statewide. Placards expire on the last day of the holder’s birth month in 2018.
• Permanent — Issued to persons with permanent disabilities. The placard allows
the authorized holder to park in spaces reserved for persons with disabilities such
as at a mall, grocery or retail store. The placard DOES NOT exempt the holder from
parking meter fees and time limitations. Placards expire on the last day of the holder’s birth month in 2018.
• Temporary placards — Issued to persons with a temporary disability. The placard
is valid for the length of time indicated by the certifying physician, not to exceed six
months if issued by the Secretary of State and 90 days if issued by a local municipality. The placard DOES NOT exempt the authorized holder from parking meter fees
and time limitations.
• Organization placards — Issued to organizations that transport persons with disabilities free of charge. The placard allows the authorized holder to park in spaces
reserved for persons with disabilities when transporting persons with disabilities.
The placard DOES NOT exempt the holder from parking meter fees and time limitations. Placards expire on April 30, 2018.
For more information on any of the items discussed in this chapter, visit www.cyberdriveillinois.com or call 800-252-8980.

92

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 93

Answers to Study Questions
Chapter 3
1. False (16)
2. True (18)
3. True (16)
Chapter 4
1. True (24)
2. True (22)
3. b (22)
4. True (28-29)
5. True (21)
6. a (29)
7. False (25)
8. True (23)
9. True (26-27)
10. False (29)
11. c (26)
12. False (22)

13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.

b (21)
True (23)
True (19)
c (21)
False (26)
a (22)
True (31)
False (25)
True (30)
True (22)

Chapter 5
1. True (40)
2. False (38)
3. True (38)
4. True (35)
5. True (37)

Chapter 6
1. True (43)
2. True (42)
3. b (42)
4. False (43)
5. True (44)
6. True (46)

Chapter 9
1. True (65)
2. True (56)
3. True (56)
Chapter 10
1. a (70)
2. False (71)
3. False (72)
4. True (74)
5. a (73)
6. True (73)
7. True (74)
8. False (74)

Chapter 7
1. True (48)
2. True (50)
3. True (48)
Chapter 8
1. c (52)
2. True (51)

3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.

True (76)
True (76)
False (78)
True (81)
True (79)
False (81)
False (80)
True (78)
False (83)
True (83)

Chapter 12
1. c (85)
2. True (85)
3. True (85)

Chapter 11
1. True (78)
2. False (77)

Index
Crash Reports, 8, 48, 49
Crosswalk, 22, 23, 25, 30, 31, 36, 56, 58, 61, 63, 70, 71, 73
Curfew, 15, 16
Curves, 21, 24-26, 28, 63, 65, 78, 80

—A—
Aggravated DUI, 45, 51
Aggressive Driving, 82
Air Bags, 19, 20
Alleys, 12, 21-23, 25, 29, 59, 72, 73
Antique Vehicle, 86, 90
Appearing in Court (See Court Appearance)
Autocycle, 39
Automated Traffic Signal/Light, 52

—D—
Defensive Driving, 50, 76
Disabled Parking (See Parking, Persons with Disabilities)
Disabled Pedestrian, 37
Distracted Driving, 19
Drag Racing, (See Street Racing)
Driver Education, 2, 14-17
Driving Exam, 2, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 46
Driver’s License
Address Change, 3-5, 7,
Age Restrictions, 2, 16
Cancellation, 9, 16, 17, 53
Classifications, 5, 12, 14
Commercial, 2, 7, 10
Denial, 54
Document ID Requirements, 6
Duplicate License, 4, 10
Exemptions, 3
Fees, 9-10
Name Change, 3, 4, 7
New Residents, 4
Renewal, 5, 7, 8, 11, 13, 18, 54
Revocation, 8, 43-46, 49, 51, 53, 54
Suspension, 5, 8, 18, 29, 42-46, 48-55, 75, 91
Temporary Visitor License, 2, 4, 7-10
Driveways, 22, 23, 25, 29, 31, 37, 59, 60, 72, 73
Driving Hazards, 79
Driving Off Pavement, 24, 81
Driving Record, 7, 12, 15, 16, 17, 42-44, 54, 55
Driving Under the Influence (DUI), 42-46, 51
Drowsy Driving, 77
Drugs, 8, 37, 42-45, 51, 52

—B—
Bicycles/Bicyclists, 24, 39, 40
Bicycles/Electric & Gas, 39, 40
Blocked Vision, 82
Blood-Alcohol Concentration (BAC), 42
Blowout (tire), 81, 82
Brakes, 12, 29, 39, 40, 77, 78, 79, 80-82, 85, 86
Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device
(BAIID), 44, 54
Bridges, 24, 25, 30, 36, 37, 64, 65, 78
Bribery, 13
Bumpers, 86
—C—
Cannabis, 42, 52
Carbon Monoxide, 79, 81, 82
Cellphone, 13, 16, 19, 21, 22, 31, 48, 62, 66, 83, 90
Certificate of Title, 88
Changing Lanes, 25, 27, 28, 52, 64, 65, 72, 79
Cheating, 13
Child Passenger Protection Act, 19, 20
Child Visitation Abuse, 52, 55
Closing Speeds, 35
Construction Zones, 21, 25, 28, 52, 53, 56, 66, 67
Controlled Access Roadway, 26, 30, 31
Cooperative Driver Testing, 14, 15, 17
Court Appearance, 48, 67
Court Supervision, 16, 18, 47, 50, 53

93

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 94

Motorcycles, 2, 5, 7, 11, 14, 31, 37-39, 85, 89, 90
Muffler, 12, 86

—E—
Electricity, 81
Emergency Contact Database, 13
Emergency Medical Information Card, 8
Emergency Vehicles, 21, 22, 25-27, 52, 59, 86
Emissions Testing, Vehicle, 91
Equipment, Vehicle, 11, 12, 41, 81, 85, 86
Expressway, 40, 41, 56, 59, 65, 71, 79

—N—
Night Driving, 14-16, 18, 35, 37, 39, 40, 67, 80, 83, 85, 86
—O—
Organ/Tissue Donor Program, 9

—F—

—P—
Parent-Teen Driving Guide, 14, 17
Parent-Teen Driving Contract, 17
Parental Access, 17
Parental Consent, 16
Parental Responsibility, 16, 45
Parking, 12, 19, 28, 29, 30, 31, 40, 53, 68, 73, 81, 92
Parking Brakes, 12, 82, 85
Parking Lights, 31, 82, 85
Parking, Parallel, 30
Parking, Persons With Disabilities, 13, 30, 53, 68, 91, 92
Passing, 21, 22, 24-26, 28, 29, 31, 35, 36, 38, 39, 41, 57, 61,
65, 68, 72-74, 76, 80, 82, 85
Passing Lane, 22, 24, 80
Passing Zone, 24, 25, 57, 61, 65, 73
Pavement Markings, 11, 28, 57, 70, 71, 73, 74
Pedestrians, 21-29, 31, 35-37, 56, 58, 61, 62, 70, 71, 73
Pedestrian Crosswalk (See Crosswalk)
Pedestrian Right-of-Way, 22, 23, 26-28, 36, 37, 56, 58, 70,
71, 73
Pedestrians With Disabilities (See Disabled Pedestrian)
Permits
Family Financial Responsibility Driving Permit, 55
Instruction Permit, 2, 4, 9, 13-15, 17, 54
Monitoring Device Driving Permit, 2, 44, 54
Occupational Driving Permit, 55
Restricted Driving Permit, 2, 18, 42, 54
Temporary Registration Permit, 89
Police Vehicles (See Emergency Vehicles)
Power of Attorney, 8
Probationary License, 2, 4, 55
Projecting Loads, 86

Fees
Driver’s License, 9, 10
License Plates, 89
Financial Responsibility Law, (See Insurance)
Fire, 81
Fog, 77, 86
Following Distances, 38, 76, 77, 78
Fraud, Driver’s License, 8, 51, 52, 54
Funeral Processions, 22
—G—
Graduated Driver’s License, 15-17
—H—
Hazard Signal, 28
Headlight Failure, 82
Head-on Approaches, 80
Headsets, 21, 22, 31
High Winds, 77, 78
Hitchhiking, 37
Horn, Vehicle, 12, 41, 80, 82, 85
Horseback Riders, 41
House Trailer, 32, 78
—I—
Implied Consent Law, 43
Instruction Permit (See Permits)
Insurance, 12, 44, 45, 49-51, 53, 83, 90, 91
Intersections, 21-23, 25-28, 30, 31, 36, 38, 40, 56, 58, 60,
61, 63, 70, 71, 73, 78, 80
Interstate, 21, 25

—R—
Radar Jamming Device, 86
Railroad Crossings, 22, 25, 29-31, 37, 39, 52, 53, 56, 70, 7375
Rain, 40, 77, 78, 85
Reckless Conduct, 51
Reckless Driving, 22, 51
Reckless Homicide, 45, 46, 51
Restricted Driving Permit (See Permits)
Restricted Local Driver’s License, 5
Right-of-Way, 12, 22, 23, 26-29, 36-39, 56, 58, 70, 71, 73, 74
Rotary/Roundabout, 28
Rural Intersections, 80

—J—
Joggers/Walkers, 37
—L—
Lane Change, 21, 28, 79
Lane Usage, 25, 36
Law Enforcement, 13, 16, 22, 28, 43, 70, 83, 90
Leaving the Scene of a Crash, 46, 49, 51
License Plates, 12, 13, 30, 48, 49, 67, 75, 85, 88, 89-91
Living Will, 8
Low-Speed Vehicles, 40, 41
—M—
Maintenance Zone (See Construction Zone)
Marijuana (See Cannabis)
Medical Report, 8
Military, 3, 9
Mirrors, Vehicle, 12, 24, 35, 79, 85
Monitoring Device Driving Permit (See Permits)
Mopeds, 31, 39, 40, 85, 89
Motorboat DUI (See DUI)

—S—
Safe Driver Renewal, 7, 8
Safety/Seat Belts, 12, 16, 19, 20, 41, 85
Safety Responsibility Law (See Insurance)
School Bus, 2, 8, 10, 25, 28, 29, 45, 51, 53, 75
School Zone, 21-23, 25, 37, 57, 58, 62
Scooters, 39

94

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 95

Towed Vehicle, 5, 32
Traffic Citation, 18, 45, 52
Trains (See Railroad Crossings)
Trucks, 11, 19, 27, 35, 78, 89
Turning, 12, 22-28, 35, 36, 38-40, 59, 60, 63, 70-73, 78-80

Selective Service, 9
Senior Citizens, 2, 13, 90
Signals/Signaling
Arm/Hand Signals, 26
Left Turns, 27
Right Turns, 26
Signs
Color, 57, 58
Construction, 66, 67
Guide, 68
Maintenance, 66, 67
Regulatory, 58-61
School, 62
Shapes, 56, 57
Warning, 61, 62
Skidding, 78, 80
Slow-Moving Vehicles, 35, 36, 66, 68
Snow, 41, 59, 78, 79, 85
Snowmobiles, 41
Speed Limit, 21, 37, 41, 59, 62, 66, 77, 79, 83
Statutory Summary Suspension, 43, 44, 54
Statutory Summary Revocation, 43
Street Racing, 51
Suspension, Vehicle Registration, 91

—U—
Unattended Vehicle, 49
U-Turns, 28, 59, 73
—V—
Veteran (See Military)
Visibility, 36, 37, 38, 39, 73, 78, 85, 86
Vision Screening, 2, 11
Voter Registration, 9
—W—
Walkers (See Joggers)
Watercraft DUI (See DUI)
Water Crashes, 81
Weather Conditions, 25, 76, 77
White Lines, 71, 72, 73, 74
Winter Driving, 77, 78, 79
Windows, 56, 78, 79, 81, 82, 85
Windshield Wipers, 12, 78, 85
Wireless Device (See Cellphone)
Written Exam, 11, 13, 14

—T—
Teen Driving, 2, 14-18
Telescopic Lenses, 11
Televisions/Video, 86
Temporary Visitor Driver’s License (See Driver’s License)
Temporary Registration Permit (See Permits)
Text Messaging, 16
Tinted Windows, 85
Title, Vehicle, 39, 41, 88, 91
Tollway, 21, 53, 78

—Y—
Yellow Lines, 25, 60, 61, 71, 72, 73, 74
Yield, 21-29, 31, 36, 38, 39, 52, 53, 56-58, 63, 70-74, 80
—Z—
Zero Tolerance, 47, 53

95

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 96

NOTICE!
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS ORDER #2
Employees age 16 and under MAY NOT drive motor vehicles on public roads as part of
their jobs.
Employees age 17 may drive cars and small trucks on public roads as part of their employment, but ONLY if all the following requirements are met:
• The driving is limited to daylight hours.
• The 17-year-old holds a state license valid for the type of driving involved in the job performed.
• The 17-year-old has successfully completed a state-approved driver education course
and has no record of any moving violation at the time of hire.
• The automobile or truck is equipped with safety belts for the driver and any passengers
and the employer has instructed the youth that the safety belts must be used when driving the vehicle.
• The automobile or truck does not exceed 6,000 pounds gross vehicle weight.
• Such driving is only occasional and incidental to the 17-year-old’s employment. This
means that the youth may spend no more than one-third of the work time in any workday and no more than 20 percent of the work time in any work week driving.
The driving may not involve:
• Towing vehicles;
• Route deliveries or route sales;
• Transportation for hire of property, goods or passengers;
• Urgent, time-sensitive deliveries (such as pizza deliveries);
• Transporting more than three passengers, including employees of the employer;
• Driving beyond a 30-mile radius from the youth’s place of employment;
• More than two trips away from the primary place of employment in any single day to
deliver the employer’s goods to a customer (other than urgent, time-sensitive deliveries,
which are prohibited); or
• More than two trips away from the primary place of employment in any single day to
transport passengers, other than employees of the employer.
The State of Illinois has laws that further limit driving for hire. For more information, contact the nearest Wage and Hour District Office or visit www.dol.gov.

96

DSD A 112.24 ILROR.qxp_Layout 1 2/4/15 1:19 PM Page 97

Illinois Driver’s Licenses/ID Cards

Driver’s License

ID Card

Commercial Driver’s License
(CDL)

Temporary Visitor Driver’s License
(TVDL)

Under 21 Driver’s
License

Under 21 ID Card

Under 21 CDL

Under 21 TVDL

The Secretary of State’s Emergency Contact Database allows Illinois driver’s license
and ID cardholders to enter emergency contact information for free into a voluntary,
secure database. In the event of a motor vehicle crash or other emergency situation
when a person is unable to communicate directly, law enforcement can access the
database to help reach the person’s designated contacts. To register your emergency contact information, please visit www.cyberdriveillinois.com.

97

DSD A 112 ROR cover2015b.qxp_Layout 1 4/3/15 10:25 AM Page 1

IT’S ILLEGAL IN ILLINOIS TO
TEXT OR USE A CELLPHONE
WHILE DRIVING.*

ILLINOIS

2015
RULES
OF THE

ROAD

*USE OF BLUETOOTH™ AND HANDS-FREE DEVICES IS
PERMITTED FOR DRIVERS AGE 19 YEARS AND OLDER.

Printed by authority of the State of Illinois. April 2015 — DSD A 112.25

Sponsor Documents

Or use your account on DocShare.tips

Hide

Forgot your password?

Or register your new account on DocShare.tips

Hide

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link to create a new password.

Back to log-in

Close